Whoa mama!

I just did the C&K 10 minute strength routine and I am pooped! My arms and legs are practically shaking and I’ve definitely broken a sweat. Thanks Caitlin and Kath! BRUTAL.

024

Suzie helped…I love it when she looks up at me and her ears do that 😉

022

After we last met, I caught up on emails and watched the news and weather continuously. We had another storm roll through in the mid afternoon which laid down 3-4 more inches of rain. I learned that I will not be working tomorrow, which is cool in some ways but I’m sad it had to be something so devastating as a flood!

It’s really a sad situation all over the city…lots of homes are flooded, cars are under water, some pets drowned at a local animal shelter, there are many homes without power, horses are being moved from a very flooded Churchill Downs and hospitals are being evacuated. Our city’s main public library had feet of water come into their basement destroying thousands of books and electrical equipment.

Please pray for everyone during this difficult time. Right now I am thanking God that my home and myself, friends and family have been spared.

I’m sure this storm is going to take a toll on our city – we’ve incurred a hurricane-force wind storm, a horrible ice-snow storm, and now this – all within the past 11 months!

Okay, done being a downer…

I ate this Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate bar earlier:

011

The size of these are perfect and you can get 10 for $1!

I was going to eat my shrimp leftovers from last night but I decided to save it for tomorrow since I’d already had seafood today and I opted to make something I hadn’t had in forever….turkey!

I found this 1 lb roll of Jennie-O ground turkey at Walmart for $1.50 over the weekend.

012

I broke it up into four 4-ounce servings and saved the other three for more meals later on 🙂

017

I seasoned my burger with sprinkles of mixed up salt (actually what it is called), sesame seeds and garlic powder and placed it on a skillet sprayed with cooking spray until it was done (a few minutes on each side over medium heat).

016

I also made good use of one of my favorite foods…

018

Avocado! I’m so in love. This food is phenomenal and it tastes great too. I’d show you what it looked like sliced up but I made a mess and was rather embarrassed, haha.

I topped my burger with 2% cheese, avocado and organic ketchup (because who wants HFCS?!) on top of one slice of whole wheat bread (also HFCS free) and a side of steamed broccoli.

019

Close up of the burger:

020

Holy deliciousness! All the flavors were amazing, I really made good choices with the seasonings and the avocado was such a treat. Avo’s are expensive at Kroger most of the time but Walmart had them for 99 cents over the weekend!

As I was eating it, I decided another pic was warranted because this juicy burger was melting in my mouth it was so good, no joke!

021

Time to relax and watch the E! True Hollywood Story of the Kardashians for like the millionth time…I don’t know why but I just enjoy them…sometimes.

Love y’all!

Update…dessert!

002

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 4, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am really sorry to hear about the storms. Stay safe! 😀

  2. Dang girl…stay safe in all that weather! Hopefully all the bad weather is past you now. That is so sad to hear of that much devestation…from WATER! I am glad you and your family are safe but will keep others in your community in my prayers for their safety and return to normal, quickly.

    Teehee, I too have a guilty pleasure with the Kardashians…sometimes. 😉 But we are watching the Cardinals play the Mets right now…game on!

  3. Wow everyone will be in my prayers…it sounds pretty scary! Stay safe

    Ha your din din looks like mine from ayer…we keep “biting” off eachother lol Pun intended

    Btw I am all about E true hollywood story! I watch them all the time =)

Leave a Reply

