R.I.P. John Hughes

As a child of the 80’s, I was very sad to hear of the sudden passing of John Hughes, the amazing filmmaker who created classics of my life such as The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. My heart goes out to his family and friends as I am sure this is a shocking time for them, he was only 59.

I have no ideas of how to transition from that so let’s just do it, shall we?

For breakfast this morning, I decided to make use of the container of peanut butter that only had about a tbsp left in it…

001

I cooked up 1/3 cup of oats with 1/3 cup milk and water, put it in the jar and topped it with half a banana.

002

It was fun scraping PB off the side of the jar with every bite! However, I don’t really feel like I saved a dish since I had to use one to cook the oats. But I get the idea 😉

Walking into work, I passed up a lot of this…

003

And these…

010

It’s amazing how much damage a flood can do. It’s so weird to see such a mess in a place that I have been coming to nearly every day for the last 9 years (not just work, but school, I work where I went to school, so I never left)!

Mid-morning, I had yet another cheese snack and this time it was the best yet!

005

Sharp Cheddar baby!

I’m sad all my cheese is gone but I hope to get some more this weekend. Actually, even though these are only 25 cents each, I would eventually like to buy organic dairy, so I’m going to do some research and see if I can find something comparable that doesn’t cost too much more.

Before lunch, I did my workout that I mentioned earlier. When I got back, I wasn’t exactly starving, so I just drank some water and caught up on emails before I dug into lunch.

What did I bring?

006

Pizza?!

007

NO!

I don’t have many large container to hold my large salads, so I made good use of the leftover pizza container that we bought for some unknown reason 😉

This salad contained: romaine lettuce, cucumber, a Morningstar Farms garden veggie patty, and 2 tbsp roasted red pepper hummus. It tasted good but I sort of “ran out” of hummus before all the salad was gone so next time I think I’ll pack more!

I had some English tea as I worked away and eventually dug into some mixed nuts that nearly escaped the camera, but I caught them just in time.

008

I stopped at Whole Foods on the way home (picked up some Greek yogurt and more PB) and since I ride with the windows down, somewhere along the way, I smelled someone cooking out and I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner.

011

Turkey burger repeat! Only this time, corn on the cob as a side 🙂 Josh doesn’t like corn on the cob (what is wrong with this dude!) so I only had one in the fridge and it’s all mine! To me, nothing says cookout like corn on the cob – sadly our grill is out of gas, I so I had to boil this one.

I cannot get over the avocado on the burger, so good! I hate that I spent so many years of my life without avocado. Oh well 😉

Sorry to be TMI, but it is that time of the month, and I have found that chocolate works better than Advil.

012

Now I’m relaxing in bed, catching up on E! News and watching Suzie sleep.

014

In a minute, I’m going to go wake up Josh (they both like to nap, A LOT) and see if we can watch a movie.

Good night all!

Don’t forget to enter my first giveaway ever, for Musselman’s Applesauce!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 6, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Lol that is a cute pizza container!
    I am sorry about John Hughes, though I didn’t really know him (sorry, ignorant fool here).
    Chocolate works better than Advil? Really? Wow, thanks for the tip. It sure tastes much better!

  2. ohhhh I am soooo stealing that idea mañana! I have a little bit of pb left and I am having the same thing! Omigod I can’t wait for breakfast!

    Damn I can’t believe he died=( I am also an 80’s baby and watched those movies over and over again!

    Hey we seem to like the same shows, did you catch the new show on the Style Network with Giuliana from E and her hubby??? I loooooooooove their house

  3. that tupperware container is SWEET!!! i need that.

    for pizza though. not for salads. 🙂 hehe

  4. Awww cute pup! I love that you have salad in a pizza container! I clicked over here from Oh She Glows so this is my first time commenting. Love your blog! Have a great day 🙂

  5. I just found out about John today and I’m totally bumming. I think I might have to hit Amazon up and do a little movie buying spree.

  1. Pingback: Countdown « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

