Countdown

We’re watching the countdown to UFC 101 in anticipation for the pay per view tomorrow night! If you are new to SSE, hi I’m Sarah and I’m a HUGE UFC FAN! As far as tomorrow night goes…I am rooting for Forrest Griffin and Kenny Florian 😉

Anyway, let’s talk about food since that’s what you are really here for!

Breakfast this morning was another green monster…I used to think these alone would not fill me up but throw a tbsp of peanut butter in there and I am good to go.

005

This GM was made with 1 cup 1% milk, 1 banana, 2 cups of spinach (handfuls really), and 1 tbsp peanut butter plus some ice. I tried a fresh banana with ice today instead of a frozen banana, but I think I will stick with the frozen banana from now on, I could tell a difference. Not huge, but if I have a choice, might as well go with what seems better.

This held me amazingly well today. I drank a cup of coffee and water until about 10:00 when I dug into my mid-morning snack.

006

I stuck to 2 tbsp today instead of my usual 1/4 cup to see if it made a difference and you know what? 2 tbsp actually was enough. More proof that I don’t have to eat an entire serving of something just because that is how it is measured.

Before lunch, I hit the gym for what ended up being an awesome cardio workout. I jumped on the treadmill, set the incline to 2.0% and warmed up with a 5 minute walk (3.0-3.8 mph) and then jogged for 5 minutes @ 5.0mph before I did some intervals.

I did 1 minute hard to 1 minute easy for 10 minutes, hard runs being between 6.0-8.0 (I basically upped it by 0.2 each time) and then recovered at 5.0 mph. At the end, I was hot, sweaty, had blotchy skin, but felt oh so awesome. I can’t believe I ran 8.0, even if it was just for a minute.

I cooled down walking for 5 minutes and then did a few stretches so my leg muscles wouldn’t tighten up on me. I’m hoping to get in a little yoga either tonight or in the morning.

For lunch, I had another salad and another dilemma with what container to use. Then I remembered this Pampered Chef bowl I bought at a friend’s party a couple of months ago that I hadn’t used yet. But it was a little big…

007

I was hoping no one would walk by my desk and give me weird looks, ha ha. What I brought didn’t quite fill it up but it gave me plenty of room to maneuver.

008

This salad contains: romaine, spinach, cucumber, and chick peas. I brought hummus as topping again but after the problem I had yesterday with running out, I went with a new strategy. The same one I use with salad dressing!

009

Dip your fork in it! By doing it this way, I got hummus with every bite instead of trying to spread it around in the bowl. It worked like a charm, I even had a little bit left over, which I promptly licked right out of the container.

010

A couple hours later, I was stressing out a bit (you’ve got to love paydays and the bills that suck all your money away!) and I had another cup of coffee with creamer. I love how that was my emotional “treat” of the day, ha ha.

When I got hungry later in the afternoon, I went with the oldest snack in the book, one I used to eat all the time as a kid.

011

Celery + PB…oh my gosh, look at how creamy that PB looks!

When I got home tonight, Josh was going through all these places we could eat dinner, but I just wasn’t feeling it, so he got a pizza to bring home and bake and I had dinner from home which hit the spot completely.

012

Veggie burger with 2% cheese, spinach, and ketchup on two slices of whole wheat toast with a side of broccoli. I love the veggie burger + spinach + ketchup combo, it is one of my all-time favorites. 🙂

For accountability’s sake, I had a Coke Zero with dinner. I hate artificial sweeteners but every now and then I need something other than water with some fizzy-ness. I won’t make a habit of it though.

I also had a dark chocolate bar and got a second one out but have already talked myself out of it. I’m thinking peppermint tea is in my future though.

013

It’s been almost 2 weeks since I have been eating less sugar/carbs and I still can’t believe how good I feel. After my workout, I was not tired and didn’t feel tired the rest of the afternoon like I sometimes do. It’s just amazing. I feel that good.

I also used to have really dark circles under my eyes, so bad that I had to wear concealer every day but now you can barely see them, mostly just in the corner of my eye now. I wish I had done before and after pics of that!

Hope you all enjoy your Friday night! Don’t forget, the Musselman’s Applesauce giveaway ends tonight, so hurry!!

I will announce the winner tomorrow morning 🙂

Good night all!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 7, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, detox, Dinner, hummus, Lunch, running, Weekends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am planning to get some Spinach mañana and will finally make a green monster…my plan is to make it with water+1 scoop of Vanilla LMM+frozen Strawberries+Spinach…what do you think???? I am a Green Monster Virgin! I need guidance ha

    • That would probably be okay…the only thing about using strawberries is it actually makes a “brown monster” so don’t be surprised that it’s not all green, haha. Make sure the strawberries are sweet and ripe, that is the key to masking the taste of the spinach. I’ve never used a protein powder in mine but I know lots who do. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

