Why we blog

My walk at the Zoo this morning was killer! My aunt and I ended up doing 5 laps = 5 miles! And there are some really great hills there too. It was a great way to kick start the day, it really set the tone.

When I got home, I chugged water and snacked on some nuts!

002

Then I went and did my grocery shopping which turned out to be awesome! I went to two places, shopped for two people and spent a total of $31.87. Doing research, checking ads and coupons, not buying most packaged crap, plus buying stuff in season really does SAVE MONEY.

I had to hurry up and eat a lunch because my mom took me to see “Julie and Julia” this afternoon 🙂

My lunch was weird but it totally worked. I wasn’t that hungry but I knew I needed something so I heated up some leftover chickpeas (with hot sauce and sour cream) and brussels sprouts.

003

004

All together now!

005

I didn’t even finish the chickpeas because I was full! I saved the rest to throw in a salad later. It’s crazy how much different my eating and appetite are now that I don’t eat much sugar. Have I mentioned how happy I am?

The movie was great…it reminded me a lot of us food and fitness blog writers and the various reasons we started and maintained our blogs. For some of us, it is to keep us accountable to healthy eating or exercise, for others it’s to inspire their readers to live healthier lives, and some of us really just don’t know (ahem, yours truly).

But we do it anyway because there is that drive inside of us to do something creative, to share our experiences with the world whether we have 2 readers or 200. I’m so proud to be a blogger.

After the movie, my mom took me out for some coffee (my mom rules) and I got an iced one (it’s finally in the 90’s here now) with some skim milk and a sprinkle of cinnamon (a trick I learned from Tina, another great blogger).

It’s been a great day friends!

I just ate some dinner because I was HANGRY (another great blog) and I didn’t feel like eating at Buffalo Wild Wings tonight anyway (truly).

So I made something I’ve had for the third time this week but it hasn’t gotten old!

Guess? It included some of this beautiful thing

006

I’m going to have to go to Turkey Burgers anonymous…NOT!

007

I did things a little differently this time and left off the cheese because I really wanted to savor the flavors of the burger (I seasoned it with garlic powder, chili powder and sesame seeds this time) and avocado that I topped it with. But I sure as heck didn’t leave off the ketchup! Organic…no HFCS.

008

YUM! So good. It’s equally good with the cheese, but I’m glad I tried it without since I really wasn’t feeling it today.

Since it’s early, I will probably have a snack before we go to BWW, then I might order a glass of wine there (wink wink), and most likely will stash a dark chocolate bar in my purse for later…it’s going to be a long night, but the perfect ending to a great Saturday.

Hope you all are having fun too! “See” you tomorrow 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 8, 2009, in Dinner, exercise, Lunch, movies, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am dying to see that movie! I love being a blogger too =)

  2. I definitley fall into the I don’t know why category sometimes. I enjoy it and it’s a creative outlet to remind me of why I eat/exercise the way I do.

    You turkey burger looks great! I will really have to try the avocado on one. I love avocados but never thought to have it on a burger.

  3. I so planned to see Julie & Julia tonight, but we ended up seeing 500 Days of Summer (not food-related but still pretty great). Mmm, your turkey burger looks good every time, gonna have to have one soon.
    -jessica

  4. Hi – I just found your blog – love it! I saw Julie and Julia today too…I thought it was pretty darn cute!

  5. Can’t wait to see that movie!

Leave a Reply

