Greek food rules

Hello friends!

Well, after a disappointing UFC pay per view last night, I went to bed at 1:30 a.m. only to be woken up by the dog at 6, eek. But I was able to sleep another hour before waking up for church.

Last night before the show, I had the other half of my banana and some pb for a snack 😉

001

Over the course of the loooong night, I ended up eating 2 mini chocolate bars and skipped out on the wine because I just didn’t feel like it (too tired) and they didn’t list the prices on the menu…never a good sign.

This morning for breakfast, I bet you can’t guess what I had? I swear I have bananas and peanut butter running through my veins.

002

I ended up using the crunchy PB on the oats, go figure, haha.

This plus two cups of coffee held me over until we went out to lunch with my parents to Famous Dave’s, where I ordered the lunch size portion of the grilled chicken caesar salad.

salad

I ate every last bit of it, except for the croutons, and just dipped my fork in the “bowl” of dressing which was on the side. I also cut the top off of my corn muffin and ate it…that alone was huge, I can’t imagine eating the whole thing!

When I got home, I ate a dark chocolate bar and watched “The Reaping” (which was interesting until the last 15 minutes or so).

Then I tried to take a nap, but Suzie wasn’t having it.

suzieq

WAKE UP MAMA!

Before long, it was time to have dinner with my good friend Aleta at a great Mediterranean place called Zaytun Mediterranean Grill.

003

They don’t really have their own website, but here is a review from a local source 🙂

The interior of the place is small (I think it can seat 50 total) but I think it adds to the charm and the decor is simple but comfy.

009

I did hear from my friend though that the bathroom was claustrophobia-inducing, ha ha.

On the menu are several choices of salads, wraps, gyros, and other classic Greek dishes.

004

But I think the most impressive part of the menu is the appetizers!

005

We decided to split the “Half and Half” hummus (half Phoenician – spicy – and half the Egyptian, which is more traditional). I absolutely adored the spicy, it was perfection and the traditional was good too.

006

We also split the cheesy flatbread 🙂 It was like a less greasy version of something you’d get from a pizza place. They tasted great and did not sit heavy on my stomach and the fresh tomato sauce (that we spread on top) was so, well, refreshing!

007

Since we filled up so much on appetizers (and I drank about 8 glasses of water) we just ordered Greek salads as our “main dish” of the evening.

010

Romaine, red onions, cucumber, tomato, black olives and feta cheese all tossed in Greek dressing. 

It was the perfect size and when I left, I was not too full and 110% satisfied with the quality of the food and the service. I had been here once before with my mom but did not review it for the blog at that time.

We had a coupon to use tonight but everything on the menu is super affordable. Most appetizers and main dishes run around $5 a piece. And it’s all totally worth it!

I hope you have enjoyed your weekend. I know I have!

p.s. Two pieces of Dove chocolate made it into my mouth too 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 9, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear that the fight was not that great…I heart Greek food and might be having it tomorrow AGAIN. My niece is coming to work with me again and she loves ordering from there.

    Btw I hated the end for the reaping but I did love that long white skirt she is wearing in a scene of the movie lol…I have ADD and I lose focus ha

  2. I LOVE greek food – we’re going to a greek restaurant this Friday and I can’t wait for the feast! Yummy!

  1. Pingback: R & R « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

