Good morning blogland!

Hello 🙂

I’m off work today and Suzie let me sleep until almost 7 o’clock this morning, hooray!

017

We were supposed to be going to King’s Island with a group of kids from our church but late last night, more and more things kept falling through so we decided to postpone until a later date. What to do with a day off? Hmm…clean?

Breakfast this morning was my usual banana-PB oatmeal. I did buy just a few bananas at the store this weekend but I also grabbed a container of blueberries, which I’m planning on trying tomorrow morning, assuming I have oatmeal 😉

001

I wonder what blueberries + PB taste like, I can’t remember if I’d had it. Anyone know?

I really need to get some exercise today but I’m not sure what to do — it’s already way too hot outside for any walking or running, so I think I’m going to have to stick indoors. Maybe the C&K routine, some yoga downloads and hardcore cleaning will do it. Ok, maybe not all of those things but you catch my drift 😉

On the weight front, I am happy to say that things are moving in the right direction again. It’s been two weeks since I started eating less sugar (and more veggies + protein) and I feel great, healthy and my pants are loosening up. I have weighed myself the past two Mondays but I’m going to keep that info to myself for now.

Warning : Possible TMI ahead!

I’ve never mentioned it on much on the blog but there were many days out of the week that I would be bloated and plagued with painful gas which I had never been able to determine the cause of. In the Summer of 2008, I assumed it was a lactose intolerance so I cut out dairy and that seemed to work temporarily. Then when I ate a piece of cheese a few months later and nothing happened, I went back to eating dairy with no additional effects.

Then I just assumed I was eating too many gas-inducing vegetables or beans so I tried to be careful with that too. I’d honestly just started to live with it. It wasn’t every day. I guess it just happens, right?

But these past two weeks, well, it hasn’t really happened at all! In fact, my stomach is even starting to look flatter. I wore a shirt last night to dinner that I hadn’t felt comfortable wearing in a LONG time and it looked better last night than it ever has. I guess I was eating too much sugar and grains, duh.

I’m so glad I started this new way of eating and I’m so thankful to Heather for putting the idea in my head in the first place!

Have a great Monday everybody.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 10, 2009, in Breakfast, exercise, sugar, Weight and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So glad you’re starting to get some answers about the cause of your discomfort in the past and yay for clothes feeling better!!

    Have a great morning 🙂

  2. KUDOS CHICKIE I am so proud of you!!!!

    BTW I am secretly hating you right now lol…I did not go grocery shopping so I have no bananas or pb!!! I am going maaaaaaaad. I am going today to stock up like WOAH lol

  3. Good Morning, Sarah! Sounds like your week is starting off on the right foot! And with a day off, too! We have too much heat and humidity here, too…today is supposed to be a doozy. I think I am going to take the kids to see a movie…too hot to do anything else!

    Enjoy your day, darlin!

  4. Are you kidding? Any fruit with pb = heaven!! Do you have Direct TV? They have some great workout videos on there.

    On the gas issues. I can totally relate. I was having extreme issues for almost 3 years. Went to tons of doctors and no one could figure it out. I cut out fruit once, I cut out dairy, found out I was allergic to eggs, cut out all fake sweeteners and blah blah blah. Finally I started the raw/food combining detox with in turn I ended up cutting out oats for about a week and my gas cleared up but I didn’t draw the connection until the other day when I had some oats at lunch and then the rest of the day had horrible gas and cramping. Well, its the oats! Has to be. I was in denial so long and cut out everything but them because I loved them so much and all a long it was them! I haven’t said anything on my blog yet but I plan to. Cutting out the grains especially the oats has helped a ton! My skin has even cleared up and my stomach is the flattest it has been in a long long time! Good luck figuring out the issue. Have a great day 🙂

    ~Justine

    • Wow, that is interesting! Were you tested for celiac disease? I’m glad you are getting to the bottom of your issues too.

      I do not have Direct TV but what I do have does have some short workout videos on there that I’ve used from time to time. Turns out, I didn’t need it today 😉

Leave a Reply

