All in one

When it comes to weight training, I really prefer to hit as many of the muscle groups as possible in one workout, that way I can just rest or do cardio the next day and also not leave any muscle group feeling neglected. So, that is exactly what I did today!

First, I warmed up on the stair master for 5 minutes (which was tough, I need to do that more!) and then used the rower for 5 minutes to warm up my upper body too. Then I split my workout into three circuits (upper body, lower body, core) and did two sets of each exercise, 12 reps each (except for core, which was 15 each). I won’t list all the weights because it was varied and I went up when it was too easy and down when it was too much.

Circuit 1 – Upper Body

  • Chest presses
  • Military shoulder presses
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep extensions
  • Lateral raises
  • Bent over row
  • Dead lifts

Circuit 2 – Lower body

  • Leg press machine
  • Calf raise machine
  • Leg extension machine
  • Lying leg curl machine
  • Hip adductor/abductor machine

Circuit 3 – Core

  • Back extensions on balance ball
  • Crunches on ball
  • Sit ups using 4 lb medicine ball
  • Side crunches left
  • Side crunches right

This entire workout (excluding warm up and cool down) took me around 33 minutes. I did allow myself 30 seconds between each set to catch my breath and give my muscles a break.

When I was finished, I walked on the treadmill for 10 minutes to cool down. What an awesome workout!

I’m thinking up what to do tomorrow already, it’s a cardio day 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 11, 2009, in exercise, weight training, workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

