Weighty issues

ht_Self_Clarkson_090807_mn

I read an article online today about Kelly Clarkson in SELF Magazine addressing critics of her weight. That got me thinking: why is ANYONE being critical of HER weight? I find weight to be such a sensitive topic and so personal that it’s not appropriate to discuss or be critical of someone for. I would HATE it if anyone were to watch my every move and notice every few pounds I gain or lose.

I know this has been going on longer than Kelly’s time but it really hit me this morning like a ton of bricks. It’s amazing that she has the self confidence to not take any of it to heart (at least in this interview). But I don’t think we’re all as lucky. When people criticized me about my weight and my bad choices in my past, it cut me to the bone. It was not motivating…it would just make me want to eat more and lay on the couch more…it was a confidence killer.

I’ve also faced critics at this stage in my life who have said to me before that they think I’ve lost too much weight or that I should “stop before I get too thin.” To me, that is just as bad as calling someone the “f” word. It’s one thing to be concerned about someone who is experiencing an eating disorder or perhaps a stressful life situation that is altering their body composition drastically. But to say something like that to a person who went from 225 lbs to a healthy weight can be one of those triggers that sends a person back over the edge and back to where they started. Luckily, I am able to shake it off well enough now. I still think about it. I still hear those voices in my head every now and then.

I guess they think it is okay to criticize Kelly Clarkson because she is in the public eye and she should be setting a good example for younger fans, but I mean come on. She’s human! If you want someone to set a good example, start criticizing these kids’ parents. I mean really, what other reason would they have? What standard are they trying to hold her to?

This article from ABC News states that Kelly C. only looks the way she does on the cover because of retouching. I’m sure that is partially true, but it still bothers me. Especially for a cover promoting “Total Body Confidence.” Really?

Anyway, let me leave you now with some of my favorite quotes from this article:

“I love healthy stuff and junk an equal amount,” she tells the magazine. “Whatever I’m craving, I go for it.”

Speaking of her Crossfit workouts: “You never work out more than 35 minutes, but it’s so intense … It makes me feel like G.I. Jane. It’s very empowering.”

“I’m never trying to lose weight – or gain it. I’m just being!”

~~

Please feel free to weigh in on this topic…pun totally intended.

Happy Tuesday! Love yourselves 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 11, 2009, in articles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for this entry – I love it!

    When I was a senior in college I lost 70lbs (and have gained a lot of it back – I’m in the process of losing it again) and people would tell me that I needed to eat more or I was getting too thin. It DID send me back over the edge and I ate to make those people shut up. Right now I’m trying to do it for me and do it the right way instead of doing it for them!

  2. I saw that article, but I didn’t click on it. I just saw her perform live (TV) and she definitely looked significantly heavier, but I still think she looked great. Everyone gets airbrushed for magazine covers so I don’t know why its a big deal. People just need something to gossip about, I guess. I hope in the future society as a whole is able to veer away from being so publicly critical of women’s weight issues.

    • I agree totally, I hope someday that is true. I think talking about a woman’s weight is as bad as talking about her age. Neither should matter in the grand scheme of things. A person’s weight (or age) has little to do with their creative abilities…Kelly is obviously a great singer no matter what her weight is.

Leave a Reply

