A new beginning

I’m one of those rare people who actually welcomes Mondays because it is the start of a new week, a time to begin fresh and set the tone. Although my day wasn’t all fun and games, I certainly feel like I did some things for me today and I certainly made it a healthy day.

This morning, I had oats in a jar again! I’m starting to go through PB too quickly around here 😉

014

Oats with skim milk, blueberries and the rest of my PB&Co Crunch Time. It was good but I don’t know that I’d get it again for a while, I still want to try Smooth Operator.

I had some coffee when I got to work and then mid morning I enjoyed this snack.

015

Land O’Lakes colby jack cheese snack! I found a bag of these at Walmart over the weekend. I loved it!

For lunch, I tried another Kashi meal:

016

I’ve got one more coupon left so expect to see at least one more of these in the next couple of weeks, haha.

This dish was pretty good, I have to say. The last time I got one like this, I didn’t think it had enough chicken but this one was much better. I am a big fan of the southwest style (with black beans, corn, etc.) so this really hit the spot.

017

Mid afternoon I snacked on some mixed nuts before leaving a little early for some much needed exercise!

018

I met my friend Farrah outside for a run. It was the first time we’d gotten to work out together in almost two weeks. Between the flood and her vacation, I’d missed her!

It was hot as heck but for some reason it didn’t bother me much today. We ran/walked 3 miles in about 37 minutes. I felt so good afterwards and I’m still sort of carrying it right now. I must’ve really needed that…short and sweet.

For dinner, I met an old friend Kristin at Mimi’s Cafe, one of my favorite places in the city. I decided to try a salad this time, so I got Mimi’s Chopped Cobb with no bleu cheese (ick).

mondaydinner

Unfortunately, they used mostly iceberg lettuce! But the turkey, bacon, tomatoes, egg and avocado were really good. I didn’t like the dressing they brought me either so I ended up just eating it dry which was fine actually.

I also had half of a honey oat bran muffin that came with my dinner.

mondaydinner2

It wasn’t the best meal I’ve ever had there but I was full and catching up with an old friend is always a good time 🙂

I’m back at home now, watching some bad TV waiting for Josh to get home from a concert. I had two of these for good measure.

019

Hope you all had a good Monday and an even better tomorrow!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 17, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love Mimi’s that salad is pretty good! I agree about the iceberg lettuce though.

  2. I can’t wait to finish this jar of pb just to have my oatmeal in there. I’m a simple girl who gets happy with the little things in life such as oats in a jar ha…

    Sidenote and totally unrelated: did you see true blood this week??? So freaking good…AND the preview for Halloween 2? Rob did it too woohooo =)…they just added a thriller on demand to our cable! All the movies are 1.99! And they have some really good old ones =) I refused to buy any this weekend since I was dosing off way too much =)

    • Yes, I did see it, intense! And I am looking forward to Halloween 2, I love Rob Zombie. But I have to say, I wasn’t thrilled with the second half of Halloween but overall, it was very well done — I’m just a huge fan of the original so I had a few issues 😉

  3. I am new to your blog, but I have to say that I love it! I look foward to reading it!

  4. I love the kashi meals but I always just buy the mayan harvest bake – I should branch out and try something new next time I pick one up.

    I also haven’t tried the oats in a jar yet – that looks tasty!

  5. Question- why would you applaud Kath on KathEats for running in this hot weather? It’s dangerous and to me shows an unhealthy addiction to exercise.

    • I’m glad you asked! I don’t find Kath’s actions to be dangerous at all. She obviously takes care of herself by dressing properly, staying hydrated and not exercising to the point of complete heat exhaustion or otherwise. She’s also a very healthy eater and fuels her workouts properly. She is doing nothing dangerous.

      In fact, I ran (and walked) in the heat today myself. And I feel fine.

  6. Wow, you are both crazy. Glad I’m a sane one.

  7. I love your optimism for Mondays 🙂 I’ve been to Mimi’s once and we ordered so much yummy food it became a dangerous place!

Leave a Reply

