Spinach Chickpea Curry

On Wednesday night, I served a dish that I made the night before. I really enjoyed making this ahead of time because I really got to focus on the recipe, properly measuring the ingredients and not feeling rushed to get it done in a certain amount of time.

I found this recipe on allrecipes.com for Spinach Chickpea Curry. I find that when a recipe’s name contains that many of my favorite words, it has to be good, right?

013

Anyway, I followed the recipe almost exactly, just substituting canola oil for vegetable oil since it’s what I had and I used part frozen spinach since I didn’t have enough fresh left for the recipe. And I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin which was not on the list, per another reader’s recommendation.

012

The recipe called for extra firm cubed tofu and I just so happened to have this container of already cubed tofu which worked out so great!

014

This was awesome and didn’t cost anymore than the non-cubed containers. I will definitely be getting this one again for other recipes!

Per another reader’s recommendation, I baked the tofu first at 425 degrees for 20 minutes. Turning over once halfway through.

016

While it was cooking, I got to work on the other ingredients. Then I threw in the tofu once it was done cooking. I was very pleased with the texture, I need to bake it first more often!

017

This was also my first time using curry paste!

015

This is small container and cost over $3 but since I just used a little bit in this recipe, I’m sure it will last me a while.

Coming together…

018

I didn’t taste it before I put it in a storage container for girl’s night. I don’t know why, but I rarely taste dishes I make ahead of time. Unless it’s dessert 😉

019

Stay tuned for my post about Wednesday and find out how it tasted!

021

Happy Friday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 21, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

