Last day of the old mentality

Hey guys! Hope you saw my previous post on my possible vegan adventure. I’ve pretty much made up my mind that I at least want to try making a few substitutions and trying some new recipes if nothing else. No matter what though, I want it to be an adventure and learning experience 🙂

Breakfast this morning found me once again using up some stuff lurking in the freezer (to make room for more yummy foods):

002

On the left is a Morningstar Farms “sausage” patty and on the right is a Holey Donut in raspberry fudge 🙂

Holey Donuts sent me a few samples to review for the blog a while back and I have covered most of them now. Once the box is empty (one more to go) I will do a wrap up of the entire experience, including Josh’s opinions as well!

Close up!

003

Believe it or not this breakfast held me better than I expected. But when it was time for a snack, my hunger was pretty intense so I went for the bigger of my two snacks: greek yogurt with peanut butter!

004

It was during this snack that I started having the Vegan Revelation.

Before I ate that though, I went for a 15 minute walk. A couple of hours afterwards, I went to the gym and did a nice strength and weight training routine with my bud Farrah. My arms were tired at the end of our session so I know I did some good work 🙂

For lunch (that snack held me for 3 hours!) I created a tuna salad but spiced it up a bit. I’ve seen paprika used on tuna at restaurants I’ve been to before (like McAlister’s Deli) so I thought I’d give it a try from home.

005

This was such a good idea! I also used Smart Balance mayo mixed in with the tuna. The salad contained romaine lettuce, cucumbers and a tiny bit of raspberry vinaigrette dressing. It was delicious!

I went for another 15 minute walk on my break and I think this is an amazing thing to do on nice fall days. I’m so looking forward to the new season. I usually prefer summer but something about the fall is making me so happy. Pumpkin stuff, light sweaters, Halloween…the list goes on.

For a snack, I had some cheese (the last one) and fruity tea.

006

When I left work, I thought I was needing another snack but as it turns out I was thirsty. I drink water all day long but for some reason after so much of that, I really need something with some flavor to really quench the thirst and taste buds. Today I opted for this again…

007

Worked like a charm. I love this flavor. I’m still not 100% sold on Pure Via. What do you guys think? Is there such a thing as an all natural 0 calorie sweetener?

While I was waiting for my ride, I stumbled upon this article in my Health magazine called Stuff That Messes With Your Hormones.

008

Hormones are a sensitive issue for me since I have struggled with abnormal and irregular menstrual cycles my entire womanhood. It got even worse when I lost all my weight and trained for a mini-marathon. Luckily the past several months, my cycles seemed to have regulated for the most part but they are still not the 28-day norm.

Anyway, for that reason alone, it always catches my eye when I see information about what can affect hormones in our bodies. This article brought a few things to my attention that I hope to address soon.

009

1. Buy a new filter – We used to use a pitcher with a filter for our water when we first got married but we sort of got lazy and out of the habit. Also, our cities tap water is supposedly the best in the country. But according to this article, that may not be enough.

2. Check cleaners, soaps, lotions and cosmetics – I recently purchased a new cleaner for the kitchen that is more environmentally friendly. I also was inspired by Angela and other bloggers who have taken to safer cosmetics and skin care products. I’m going to start checking the products I already have, use what I can and then gradually replace them with safer alternatives.

3. Toss the plastic – I was aware that BPA was in lots of water bottles and I threw out the ones I had and replaced them with a stainless steel container. But I still own a ton of plastic for food storage and I often reheat things in those containers. I knew it wasn’t a great idea but I didn’t realize putting these plastic containers in the microwave AND dishwasher could cause this harmful ingredient to leach out. I don’t know how easy it will be, but I hope to find alternatives to these containers or at least remember to hand wash them and not use them to reheat things.

4. Meat goes bye-bye – This was not a surprise to me. We all know that unless we get meat from a source that we know does not use hormones on their animals, chances are we are ingesting more than we care to when we eat that hamburger or piece of chicken. Rather that spend a lot of time or money finding safer meat, I would prefer to just avoid it altogether. See my post on veganism.

Anyway, back to eats!

For dinner, I threw together a combination of barley, pinto beans, and mixed veggies topped with Sriracha.

012

It tasted even better than it looks! I used 1/2 cup of barley, 1/2 cup of beans and 1 cup of veggies.

Here’s the barley. I get this for really cheap at Kroger and it lasts forever!

010

For dessert, I finished off the last few Dove dark chocolates. As I’ve done research (including lots of “Is (fill in the food) vegan?” searches on Google) I’ve found that I’m going to have to step up my quality of chocolate if I want it to fit into this experiment.

Did you know…even though chocolate itself comes from a cocoa tree, the more processed a chocolate product is, the more added ingredients it contains including milk and milk fats (among other artificial ingredients). Here’s a good guide to vegan chocolate.

Still a good message though…

013

“Keep believing in yourself and your special dreams.”

I’m off to go brainstorm my special dreams now. Hope you do the same.

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 1, 2009, in articles, Breakfast, changes, dairy, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have issues with my hormones too. Glad you posted this! 🙂

  2. Yums your din din looks delish. I know what you mean about going for walks in this weather…my sis and I went for a long walk this afternoon while my niece rode her bike…

    Thanks for that article, I am always looking for more info on the subject of hormones since I have pcos

  3. that’s a really interesting article! i’ve got lots of health issues, and i’ve never really thought about hormones being the cause…

    barley? never had it before, but it looks yummy in your photo. i love mixing rice, couscous, lentils and quinoa with veggies and different spices, so i may have to try barley!

Leave a Reply

