A taste of Fall

Good evening blog friends!

Before I made it to bed last night, I had some more snacks, including this 1/2 banana with PB and a small cup of dry Cheerios.

NewFoodpics 075

When I woke up this morning, I went straight from my bedroom into our other room and onto the yoga mat. I did a 20 minute yoga download program, Gentle Hatha #1, and it was the perfect way to wake up and warm up my body for the day!

For breakfast, I had oat bran (made with water) topped with almond butter and the other half of that banana 🙂

NewFoodpics 077

I broke into these bad boys mid morning and took a nice 15 minute walk afterwards.

NewFoodpics 078

Lunch was just boring leftovers. Unfortunately the tofu is not as good leftover as it was the other night. Remind me to eat all of it next time 😉

NewFoodpics 079

It was good, just not as good.

In class today we started talking about metabolism and how the food we eat affects the production of energy in our bodies. While it was very scientific, I’m thinking the next class we will get into more general stuff.

I did have an interesting thought about creatine when my teacher (who has a Ph.D.) mentioned he takes the supplement and that it would be a good idea for vegetarian athletes. Hmm…something I’m going to have to research for sure.

This is the only supplement I take (when I remember) besides my daily vitamin, which is going to be really important once I start leaving out dairy.

NewFoodpics 076

Do you take supplements? Which ones?

My afternoon snack was something I hadn’t had in a while…a Larabar! I had given up bars for the most part because of their high sugar content but I got this one reluctantly because it was a new, enticing flavor.

NewFoodpics 080

So good I ripped it open and didn’t look back. It tasted just like the peanut butter cookie bar but with a hint of sweetness. It really did taste like a PB&J. While I won’t be stocking up on these anytime soon, I would definitely grab one in a pinch. At least this had 6 grams of protein!

And another 15 minute walk was had 😉

While I was waiting for my ride, I tried another refreshing drink:

NewFoodpics 081

Lipton PureLeaf unsweetened iced tea…

So tasty, nothing gross added in. Perfect for a crisp Fall day!

Speaking of Fall, I feel like we got a small taste of it tonight at our girl’s night potluck. We started things off with a few veggies and dip.

NewFoodpics 082

The main course was a vegetarian chili made by my friend Margie which was made of pinto beans, on top of some spaghetti and topped with onions (I passed on the cheese). On the side was Italian sweet bread and more veggies.

NewFoodpics 083

I went back for seconds on the chili, it was pretty good!

I also think I did not get enough fibrous veggies in my meal because I went a bit wild with dessert (which happens when I eat mostly carbs and not enough protein and veggies which fill me up way better):

NewFoodpics 084

NewFoodpics 085

S’mores baby!

I had a total of 4 (2 with the girls and 2 when I got home!), plus a few munches of random marshmallows and graham crackers.

I’m glad I chose to enjoy these today because if I do this vegan thing, marshmallows and Hershey’s chocolate will not fit into the plan. Marshmallows contain gelatin and Hersheys milk chocolate is highly processed and contains milk and milk fats.

But man these were good! I’d been craving s’mores for a while so I’m glad I finally got to enjoy some 🙂

Funny thing is, I don’t feel too full or anything. I think I was really still hungry but I don’t even want to think about the amount of sugar my body is currently trying to digest.

No matter, tomorrow will be a much lighter day 😉

Good night all, hope you had an amazing Wednesday! We’re getting closer to the weekend, woo hoo!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 2, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, vegetarianism, Walking, workouts, yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I try to take a multivitamin but I’m not a huge fan of it and it kinda makes me gag trying to take it. Drinking the green monsters in the morning gives me a lot of my vitamins throughout the day. Now I’m just struggling with protein!

  2. The only thing I take is Nature Made Vitamin C and I used to take B12 too.

    Woah no s’mores on the vegan diet? you need to rethink this hehe

Leave a Reply

