Long weekends are the best

Hi friends!

Sorry for the short hiatus…I have been thoroughly enjoying this long weekend and also getting quite a bit accomplished at the same time. My apartment has NEVER been this organized and yet I’m coming up with more to do 🙂

Anyway…Sunday morning began like many others, only it was sort of special. I had oats in a jar!

002

004

Then on the way to church, I had another treat…soy pumpkin spice latte! Uh oh…

psl

This was so incredibly delicious. But I can’t make this a habit. For financial and waistline reasons 😉

Lunch was rather unconventional…I got this weird craving for waffles and sausage so that’s what I had for lunch?

Two Eggo waffles, two Morningstar Farms “sausage” patties. And I added a tbsp of light syrup on top.

002

I got creative with La Croix as Amanda inspired me to do this!

004

So much fun!

I spent most of Sunday cleaning, doing laundry and lots of other stuff I can’t even remember. This whole long weekend threw my memory off, ha.

In the afternoon, I snacked on some popcorn. This stuff is seriously good.

001

003

Then for dinner, I decided to get creative! I knew I wanted chickpeas, but the thought of eating just plain ol’ chickpeas cooked in the microwave did not appeal to me at all!

After researching recipes for a while, I decided to just go with my own thing and see what happens. Here are the star ingredients!

005

I knew that a lot of curry dishes are made with coconut milk, so I thought why not try this soymilk? It is unsweetened so it should work. That little thing of Thai Kitchen red curry paste was a worthy investment as well.

006

I started out heating 1 can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed well) with 1/2 cup soymilk and added 1 tbsp curry paste.

But the longer I thought about it…I kept adding more stuff! I ended up adding chopped onion (1/2 cup), spinach (1/2 cup), minced garlic (1/2 tsp) and a pinch of salt.

The result looked like this:

008

Overtop a whole wheat pita pocket with a side of stir fry veggies.

007

I was ready to try it after taking that picture, but I was a bit nervous!

009

I love throwing things together on my own, especially when it was all stuff I already had on hand! This was delicious…not quite spicy enough but that is something I can improve on in the future. Success!

010

Then for dessert…the very last of my ice cream. Yes Mari, I still had some!

011

Another great use for a wine glass 🙂

012

Goodbye dairy ice cream! It’s been real. I would say I’ll miss you but we all know there are plenty of great alternatives out there.

I know this post is long so I will be back in a minute with today’s!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 7, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, ice cream, Lunch, recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. hey at least it took you awhile to finish the ice cream! I can’t keep it in the house because I finish it so fast!

  2. Just as an FYI, the syrup used in the Pumpkin Spice Latte is not vegan. That should help kick the habit.

    • Ah ha! Yes, that will help. How do you find stuff like that out? Thanks!

      • Google. When I first went vegan, I would search the internet for hidden animal products in some of my favorite foods. As you’ve no doubt discovered, it’s amazing how many seemingly vegan-friendly items actually have milk, eggs, gelatin etc. as one of the ingredients.

        I don’t dine in restaurants much anymore, but when I did, I relied heavily on http://www.veganeatingout.com/ Eating out is the one thing I found most difficult about being vegan (unless, of course, it’s a vegan/vegetarian restaurant). But there are a lot of good resources out there, but make it much more manageable.

        On a side note, I grew up in Louisville. Your post on Ramsi’s brought back a lot of memories.

      • Thanks Mindy! I try not to eat out too much as a rule and I have found that this past weekend it was very challenging unless I was at a vegan friendly place (like Ramsi’s). What a small world!

        Ah, isn’t Google the best? I don’t know what I would do without it sometimes. Thank you for your advice.

  3. OMG your pictures are cracking me up…you are too funny

  4. Ha delayed reaction…I just noticed I got a shoutout wooohoooooo

  1. Pingback: Riding the storm out « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

