Cupcakes and Chicago

Hi friends! I’m so late posting this because I have been running around like crazy getting ready for my trip to Chicago (we leave in about three hours, still lots to do) to see U2 in concert this weekend.

The show is tomorrow night but we are going up early to get settled and do lots of fun stuff including eating so I’m hoping to keep you guys posted while I’m there 😉

So…Wednesday! I think it’s going to be my favorite day forever now because not only is it girl’s night but it’s also dessert day.

I started the day off with some oat bran with almond butter and blueberries.

002

So I think MaraNatha has made me an almond butter convert. I still love PB but I think I prefer AB right now. What? Who am I?

Mid morning I snacked on some more yummy popcorn. Also utilized my break for a nice 15 minute walk!

003

For lunch, I had my leftover tofu which was delicious!

005

With some brussels on the side 😉

004

I love eating those little green things because I like them and because they are high in Vitamin C. Love that I can get that vitamin in without eating too much sugary fruit.

After lunch I enjoyed some relaxing tea and a piece of real dark chocolate.

006

007

I love my exercise science class but for some reason that day I was nodding off! I blame the tea, haha. Unfortunately I chose to wake up by getting a diet wild cherry Pepsi but that was more or less to say goodbye again for a while. I hadn’t had one in a couple of weeks anyway.

My afternoon snack was carrots and hummus. It had been a while since I’d had this combo, I loved it 🙂

008

After work, I hit the gym for a run. Unfortunately (or not) all the treadmills were taken so I rode the bike for 18 minutes while I waited!

When I finally got a treadmill, I warmed up for 2.5 minutes walking then ran for 7.5 minutes, walked for 2.5, then ran until it hit 25 minutes and cooled down by walking for 5. It was great. Overall I ran about 2 miles, which fits into my new 5k training program which called for 1-3 miles that day.

It felt so good and I spent a lot of time stretching afterwards which I haven’t done in forever (and it shows).

When I got home, I quickly got to making my contribution for girl’s night. Vegan guacamole! I used this cookbook I bought forever ago and hadn’t made anything out of yet.

009

The recipe was called “Blushing Guacamole” because it contained tomato…

010

I was hungry when I got home so I snacked on some Cheerios while I worked in the kitchen!

011

This did not go as well as I had hoped. Not at all. First off, my stupid avocadoes were not ripe yet! Then I had to use cumin because I didn’t have any chili powder.

012

Then the darn stuff did not want to mash. Ugh. So I tried to use the blender.

013

014

It looked okay but tasted weird. The girls said it was different but not bad, but I didn’t really like it. At least these were good!

015

You guys were right…these were so good I can’t buy them again for a while, ha ha!

For our main course, we had Beth’s Greek soup, which is always a good thing. Love the big veggies!

016

I believe this soup contains tomatoes, zucchini, onion, and potatoes, plus lots of spices. It’s delicious.

Also had some salad and chips on the side (I didn’t eat my dip, sadly).

017

018

However, my disappointment was easily fixed by the lovely dessert we had. These are so not vegan but it was dessert night and Beth’s birthday so I went with it.

019

YUM! Let’s celebrate!

021

Andre champagne anyone?

I had one of each 🙂

022

I also may have had a few more of Stacy’s chips before the night was over!

Okay guys, I am sooo behind on time and getting things done before Chi-town that I’m going to have to leave you with this and come back later (hopefully from our hotel) and fill you in on the rest of my adventures.

Have a great day and a lovely weekend!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 11, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, disappointment, Lunch, recipes, Snacks, tofu, workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow girls night looks delish! everytime you show a picture of a cupcake, I get the worse cravings lol…

    I love love love Stacy Chips, esp cinnamon!

    I could go for some of that soup right now…it is brrrrrrrr over here

  1. Pingback: Day 11: Finally, new recipes! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

