Full of pizza

Happy Friday evening to ya! I don’t think I have blogged this much consecutively in forever. It helps being out of town and away from usual distractions. And having wi-fi at the hotel…

Anyway, before we headed out for dinner I snacked on some popcorn.

048

Then we walked around the hotel for a bit to find where everything was. I’ve managed to avoid sodas so far, quite proud of myself. It helps not having vending machines, which annoyed me at first but I’m glad now, ha.

We had a great dinner at Gino’s East tonight!

049

This is the suburban location in Schaumburg, IL. We learned that each location is actually a franchise so they don’t necessarily have all the same things as the downtown location that Josh saw on the Travel Channel a while back.

The inside of the place was pretty cool, lots of writing and spray paint on the wall. Lots of names of people who have visited I’m guessing? They were not very busy either, for a Friday night especially.

050

The menu was quite extensive but we knew we’d be getting pizza since it’s Chicago and a pizza place. Duh!

052051

Josh ordered some garlic bread to get us started…

053 

I just had one because it looked too good not to try.

055

I also got a mini salad, which I promptly picked the cheese and croutons off of. I had fat free Italian dressing on the side.

054

Courtney and I shared the Vegetarian pizza on thin crust. It looked quite large but somehow…somehow we finished it all!

056

Holy dairy overload. I think I will try a cheeseless pizza soon.

058

It was pretty good though. It had mushrooms, green peppers, yellow squash, tomato, asparagus, and normally eggplant but Courtney is not a fan so we left it off.

So not vegan but I’m thinking that I’ll use September as experiment and be more “serious” come October. That’s my story anyway.

Josh got a small regular crust pizza with pepperoni and mushrooms. I tried to get a pic of the whole pie but the guy served him a piece right away 😉

057

Josh took that one himself! I was proud. He said he enjoyed the spiciness of the tomatoes but he also added some red pepper because nothing is too hot for this guy. He ate the whole thing!

We had a very good waiter and our experience was quite pleasant. If you are a pizza lover, like my husband, I highly recommend it.

After dinner, we did some sight seeing. We tried to go see a movie but tickets were $11! I have never paid that much to see a movie and I wouldn’t be starting now.

It was a pretty theatre though.

059

060

061

Leggoland!

062 

That’s Josh trying to see if it comes apart. Haha.

063

We also went past a Jamba Juice but after looking at their menu, I wasn’t too impressed. We don’t have those at home and I was hoping for a special treat but everything sounded way to sugary for my tastes. Oh well.

064

Then Josh discovered a GameWorks. Uh oh.

065

069

When we finally got back to the hotel, I had some tea to settle my stomach (pizza has expanded I think) and warm me up a bit since I got kind of chilly outside.

071

Well, I’ve got an early morning tomorrow. We are going to be waiting in line outside of Soldier Field ALL DAY for U2 tomorrow. My friend Courtney is a major fan and she has waiting all day on more than one occasion for me before to see Goo Goo Dolls so I owe her one.

Plus, it is going to be an amazing show. I’m sure I will have plenty of pictures to share. Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 11, 2009, in dining, Dinner, restaurants, reviews, Snacks, tea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looks like you are having a great time…

    Damn I think our movie tickets are over 11 bucks which is why I love buying bootlegs =)

    Have fun at the concert!!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Bringing it all back home « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

