Live from Chicago

Hey guys!

I’m currently blogging from our hotel in Illinois (outside of Chicago) and contemplating what to do before we go to dinner at Gino’s East in a couple of hours 😉

Today has been a good day so far. I started everything off with a new breakfast find I got on sale last weekend.

034

It’s like oatmeal only it contains oats, barley, wheat, rye, triticale plus flaxseed. Oh wait, you could’ve read all that here:

036

Anyway, it is definitely a bit different than oatmeal but I was excited to try it.

035 

I followed the instructions for microwaving on the package and then topped it with almond butter and sweet blueberries.

037

It was good. But different. It will take some getting used to after eating oat bran forever but it definitely has outstanding nutritional info. Plus it was chewy so it was a change in texture as well.

I also had some coffee with soymilk before we left Kentucky!

While on the road, we encountered some windmills. It was pretty cool…

041

042

And I snacked on some almonds 🙂

038

Then later on we stopped for lunch at what to me is one of the most “acceptable” fast food places…SUBWAY!

039

I got a veggie delight on flat bread (no cheese). It had spinach, tomato, onion, pickles, olives, green peppers and mustard.

040

I wasn’t too hungry after those almonds so this was plenty for me. I did have a piece of dark chocolate a bit later though.

044

Our hotel is so nice! It has an indoor pool and fitness center and a 24 hour Starbucks, whoa!

Here is our ginormous tv. Josh is happy. Sports is on.

045

And here is my lovely blogging space for the next two days!

046

And now I am happy 🙂

The beds are really small but luckily there is a pullout couch so we can all be comfy. Here is where I’ll be sleeping the next two nights.

047

I’m thinking I need a snack so I’m going to raid the stash I brought with me. I smartly left them in the trunk except for the one I needed on the way here so I wouldn’t eat them all when I wasn’t hungry. Ha ha. Yeah I’ve done that before…speaking from experience here.

Anyway, I’ll be back later on with dinner and such 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 11, 2009, in Breakfast, Cereal, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh that hotel sounds great!!!!! Gym AND a 24 hour Starbucks!!!! Woah Momma lol…I am a little jealous lol okay maybe a lot =)

    Have a great mini vaca!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Take me to Santa Fe « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

