Bringing it all back home

We woke up this morning later than normal after our late night from the concert 🙂

I was going to get up and work out. I did get up but my body felt tired and sore so I said oh well and just headed down stairs to the breakfast bar.

Same thing different day. Why mess with a good thing?

067

After we checked out of the hotel, we were on a search for Al’s Italian Beef. Josh has been looking forward to eating at this place possibly even more than Gino’s, where we ate on Friday.

The first location we checked was closed due to “technical problems” and the second location, near a college campus, was closed on Sundays! We were about to give up when we checked a third location…score!

075

076

Josh was very happy to try this massive beef sandwich with provolone.

077

081

He said it was literally the best beef sandwich he had EVER had in his life. He can’t wait to come back to Chicago.

He also had some fresh cut fries..I tried a couple, they were pretty good. But I had fries last night so no more for me today!

078

Believe it or not, they had something Sarah-friendly! I ordered the veggie wrap with no cheese.

079

080

The veggies were fresh and there were lots of ‘em. This is the way to do a veggie wrap! It included lettuce, tomato, olives, red onion, peppers, mushrooms, regular onion and I think that’s it. I know some of it was their homemade relish. Yum 🙂

I also cracked up at the cups…can you see the message on the bottom?

082

“Caution:Beverage in this cup may be cold. Duh!” Ha ha.

After lunch, we walked across the street to use the bathroom at the original Gino’s East! Josh said this will be the street he comes back to next time for sure 🙂

074

We got back in the car and headed back home 😦

I napped and read some magazines in the car, including this article that caught my interest in the September issue of Shape (I think).

090

More on that later…

We stopped at a gas station and picked up some snacks and drinks for the rest of the ride home (it takes us about 5 hours). Actually I just grabbed drinks and snacked on some more popcorn that I brought from home.

085

Josh got a huge stick of beef jerky…

086

And some Doritos which he said come second only to his Pizza flavored ones. Ew. We are so different, ha ha.

089

One thing we did have in common…

088

His and hers Coke Zero. I swear I’m quitting again tomorrow!

When we got home, I knew I had to make a list, sort the coupons and go to the store. So I ate some dinner because I was hungry and you never want to go grocery shopping that way.

091

I had a Boca vegan burger with tomato and mustard in a pita pocket with some romaine salad with raspberry vinaigrette. It was a nice light meal that fueled me through my errands.

I snacked on some Cheerios with soymilk later on.

093

It is time to get to bed so I’d better call it a night. Back to work tomorrow. What a weekend!

Hope yours was fun too 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 13, 2009, in Breakfast, dining, Dinner, Lunch, products, restaurants, reviews, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. whoa that beef sammy looks huge! nice!

  2. Your weekend sounds great! dude I give you props for eating healthy when your other half does not really follow the same “diet”…

  3. I have a coke zero addiction too! So hard to quit!

Leave a Reply

