Hello…hello…hola!

We are back home from Chicago now! Part of me is glad to be back home and getting on my regular routine but I also feel a great deal of sadness because I love big cities, including Chicago, and I would love to live there 😉

I was going to post last night but we didn’t get in until 3 a.m.! The concert was great and there were lots of other adventures throughout the day and night. But let’s start from the beginning shall we?

I got up at 5:30 a.m. to get in a workout before breakfast. I hit the hotel gym and did 30 minutes on the treadmill. I alternated walking and running, gradually building up my running minutes and then cooled down for 5 minutes. It was an awesome way to start the day!

After showering, we all headed downstairs to check out the continental breakfast. I thought it was a decent spread for a moderately priced hotel (we stayed at a Hyatt in the suburbs). Josh wasn’t real thrilled with it though.

001

002

I was hoping for some instant oatmeal and hot water…bingo! I brought my own almond butter from home and also picked up a banana from the breakfast spread.

004

Just like being at home!

I also had some complimentary Seattle’s Best coffee in the hotel lobby. Who needs to pay for Starbuck’s when you can get Seattle’s Best for free? I did laugh at the sleeves though. Seems like a contradiction?

003

Once we were done eating, we headed into the city to line up for the concert at Soldier Field.

023

We got there at 9 a.m. and yet there was already quite a line!

028

015

016

We set up camp and started finding ways to pass the time. It was neat seeing what all the other people were doing too. Hydration though, was the key to everything.

017

I ended up drinking over 3 liters of water yesterday!

Mid-morning I snacked on some almonds. This was my last pack 😦 I need to get some more!

018

Josh and I went for a walk to look for some food for later in the day, which if I had to guess, was about a mile each way. I definitely got exercise in that day!

We decided to eat a really late lunch to hold us over during the concert so I sort of grazed throughout the afternoon.

019

022

By the way, that Odwalla bar above rocked my socks. It was vegan technically (I checked the ingredients) not vegan as it contains calcium carbonate but it only had 7 or 8 grams of sugar, the lowest of the Odwalla bars I’ve seen.

For “lunch” or whatever it was, I got a veggie dog (a stand actually had them!) and some Sun chips. I didn’t get to photograph it because I had to pick up our stuff and move up in the line and my camera got buried in the bottom of my purse and my hands were full.

It was actually really good though. I couldn’t tell you what was in it but it did the job 😉

We finally got into the stadium around 5 p.m.

024

030

What a show! I’m not quite the huge U2 fan that Courtney is (haha) but I had a good time and got to hear a lot of the songs I’ve loved since I was much younger and some new ones too. I can see why the people line up so early, they sounded fantastic…flawless. We were close too!

048

054

055

After the show, it was hell getting out of the place. That many people all trying to leave from one exit, eek!

065

When we finally got to our car and started heading back to the hotel we were STARVING. With it being so late at night, we didn’t have many options, so we hit up Steak ‘n Shake. I’m pretty sure I haven’t been to one of these in years, definitely pre-blog days if not even longer ago.

I ordered the grilled cheese sandwich with french fries. It wasn’t perfect but at least I could keep the meat out of this meal. I was tempted to get a milkshake too, but I managed to talk myself out of that and it was a good thing because this filled me up fine.

066

Tragedy struck here though. Before we got our food, I went to the bathroom (since it had been about 8 hours since I’d gone!) and while I was flushing the toilet my wedding ring slipped off my finger (its been too big for too long) and went right down the drain!

I still can’t believe I did it. It’s gone. I was really frustrated and sad but that was mostly due to being hungry and it being so late at night. I’m okay now but I’m still upset at myself for it happening. But my husband has lost 2 so he just patted me on the back, ha!

When we got back to the hotel I had a piece of dark chocolate and some tea and finally hit the hay. It was long, it was hot at times, there were some really interesting people and things but all in all it was a great day. One for the record books 🙂

Coming up next…the last day in Chicago and making our way back home!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 13, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, concert, dining, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. ugh!! Losing my ring is my biggest fear. So sorry to hear that!

    Looks like you had a good trip 🙂

  2. Omg you lost your wedding ring?!?! I am so sorry chickie! I hate when things like that happen =(

    But besides that, I am glad you had a good time

  1. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Meat free: One year later « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

