Take me to Santa Fe

Happy Monday blog peeps!

It was a good day…went by fast and I got a lot accomplished. Plus some good eats too 🙂 Have I mentioned before that I don’t mind Mondays, ha ha.

I drove to work today since I was meeting friends for dinner so I parked in the same lot and walked just over a mile into work. Great way to start a beautiful day!

Breakfast this morning was the 5 grain cereal I told you about last week, topped with some blueberries and almond butter. I’m going through this AB too fast, I may have to slow down a bit before it’s all gone!

001

I drank some coffee with non-dairy (supposedly right) creamer which must’ve kept me full because I completely skipped over a morning snack. But I still took my 15 minute break walk!

For lunch, I had another vegan Kashi meal. I’ve had this one before and I still like it, but Mayan Harvest Bake is still my fave 😉

002

I need some recipes stat. Gotta stop relying on these convenience foods. But they are okay once in a while.

003

After lunch, I enjoyed some English Breakfast tea with a piece of real dark chocolate. And a calcium supplement!

004

I had class today and once again, I started nodding off. I don’t know what this is but I’m trying to figure it out so I can fix it. I think the room is just too warm, rather than it being something I’m eating 😉

I ended up eating both of my snacks over the course of the afternoon.

005

The last of my popcorn!

006

And my last mini Larabar 😦

After work I walked the 1+ mile back to my car and got ready to meet my friends for dinner, which I also walked too (just 5 minutes from the car). We went to this little place right near work that we heard had cheap Mexican food that was better than Q’Doba.

Santa Fe Mexican Grill

santafe

And I mean it’s a small place 🙂

santafe2

We all shared some of the chips and salsa.

chips

The chips were good but not the best I’ve ever had. But I had a good portion of them with some salsa.

For my entree, I had a Vegetal (veggie) burrito Mexican style.

burrito

It contained guacamole, beans, rice, onion and cilantro. I asked for no cheese 🙂

The burrito was so good! The guac was tasty and the thing was just stuffed with goodness. I love having beans and rice together. It was huge when it came out to the table so I cut it in half to keep me from eating it all. It worked too!

I can’t wait to have the leftovers. My bill? A whopping $5.30! I left a good tip since the food was so cheap.

When I got home, I enjoyed some more tea and another piece of dark chocolate.

007

Just FYI, I don’t count a piece of dark chocolate as “dessert” as you know I’ve limited that to just one day a week (Wednesday most of the time).

To me, desserts are things like cookies, cupcakes, ice cream, etc. Things that need to be kept in moderation for sure, in my case.

I’m excited that on the day I chose to take the vegan thing easy, I did it…rather easily! I think. Not sure about that creamer earlier today, haha.

Hope you all had a great day! It’s time for me to catch some z’s.

Later y’all!

p.s. RIP Patrick Swayze 😦

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 14, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, restaurants, reviews, Snacks, tea, vegetarianism, Walking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. “I love having beans and rice together”

    You would have loved growing up in my home. Rice and Beans were always a part of EVERY meal lol

  2. Saw your comment about moving to NY on Carrots n Cake… DO IT! Move to Brooklyn, have a fabulous time and enjoy it. Your hubby WILL change his mind when he sees how awesome it is. I love the Ville (lived there for four months) but NY is where it’s at. Go! Go!

  3. the food from santa fe mexican grill looks great! i’m lucky, living in houston, that wonderful mexican food is on every corner (good thing and bad thing, i guess!)
    -jessica

  1. Pingback: Why I love whole grains « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

