Why I love whole grains

Happy Tuesday!

Before I wrote that, I almost thought it might be Monday again, huh. Wonder what I was thinking?!

Anyway, I started today off a bit differently with something other than hot cereal. Josh had some of this bread left over so I thought I’d help him use some of it up before it went bad.

004

I bought this for him because it was majorly on sale, usually I’m very strict about having 100% whole wheat or whole grain bread in our house.

I made some toast and topped it with almond butter and a small banana that I sliced up.

006 

First off, the taste of the bread sort of clashed with the almond butter. But I finished it and felt pretty satisfied…until 9:00 when my hunger came striking out of nowhere.

This is why I prefer (and love) whole grains. Fiber keeps you fuller longer! But it was worth a shot…I will not make a repeat. Thankfully that bread is gone now. I wonder if it affects Josh the same way?

For the snack I so desperately needed, I had some cucumbers and Sabra original hummus, so good!

007

Before lunch, I headed to the gym to work out with Farrah. We ran for 1 mile outside and then did a circuit of upper body, back and abs exercises. Because we’ve been keeping the workouts shorter, I’ve been using heavier weights and I’m really noticing a difference. 🙂

For lunch, I devoured my leftover burrito from Santa Fe yesterday and a small romaine salad with creamy Italian (and vegan) dressing.

008

This kept me full for most of the afternoon until I was waiting for my ride after work. I didn’t bring a snack with me but knew I needed one, so I picked this up on the way.

009

The ingredients list was decent, it contains 11 grams of sugar but that is still less than most bars other than Kashi. Plus, I read about it on this list of snack foods that are vegan.

It was really good! And it was a really good thing I ate it because I got home late and didn’t have time for dinner before I had to leave to meet my friend Candy for our walk.

We did about 3 miles which included lots of hills, which was awesome. I still wasn’t starving when I got home (that bar rocked) but I went ahead and ate some dinner, keeping it light.

011

I made a Boca vegan burger topped with avocado and tomato, plus organic ketchup for dipping, and some Asian style veggies on the side.

I sat down, relaxed and watched some TV before I decided I was still a bit hungry (it caught up with me). So I made this totally awesome snack of a pita pocket topped with almond butter and a few semisweet (and vegan) chocolate chips.

012

When I was done, I got to work on my main dish recipe that I’m serving at girl’s night tomorrow! I will tell you all about it then 🙂

On a different note, I am SO NOT watching The Biggest Loser this season. It’s been tempting since I was home while it was on and my DVR is still set up to record it. But after the last two seasons I don’t think it is good for my health for me to continue. I get so wrapped up in the contestants, which I think have been particularly evil the past two seasons, and I get mad at them!

I also get tired of all the fakeness and trying to pretend like they aren’t basically doing a commercial in the middle of the show even though we see plenty of them over the course of two hours. I also really like Jillian Michaels and Bob Harper but feel that they have become “characters” rather than the real (and awesome) people they are.

I don’t know. Part of me wants to know what’s going on. Perhaps if I could find a disconnect…be able to watch the show without caring? Hmm…

Do you (or did you) watch a show that just downright pisses you off? How do you deal with it?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 15, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, potluck, products, running, Snacks, tv shows, weight training, workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I can’t watch Biggest Loser this season, merely because it makes me so depressed about losing 1-2 lbs a week! I really get down on myself when I see them losing 20 lbs in a week!

    • Good point Amanda! The funny thing is losing 1-2 pounds a week or sometimes even less than that is totally NORMAL. What they are doing is just downright freakish. I’m so glad there are others giving up watching. It was inspiring at first but now it’s more of a competition and a 2-hour long commercial than anything else.

  2. OH I Heart BL just because I get to watch Bob and Jil Jil but I do recall not watching it two seasons ago because I hated that married couple. I swear they were the devil ha…

    I dvr’ed it and watched some of it while I was doing abs this morning. And I soooo agree with you with about he dumb “commercials” during the show…ohhhh “chew this” and “use that bag” but the funny thing is that Jillian once said on her radio show to NEVER use plastic bags to steam veggies and she even said that the producers/lawers of BL are going to kick her bum for saying that

  3. Oye typing sentences can be hard while you have a migraine, what I meant to say was “And I soooo agree with you about the dumb “commercials” during the show” much better lol

Leave a Reply

