Riding the storm out

For some reason I feel like I have used that title before?

We are currently sitting through a line of thunderstorms, which we also had this morning. I’m hoping they pass through soon since I have to take Suzie out one more time!

Around 5:30 or so, I was hungry but not quite ready for dinner, so I snacked on some mixed nuts.

NewFoodpics 106

Then I did some studying…I have my first Exercise Science exam tomorrow! But I’m not even worried. These first few chapters have basically been a review of things I learned in Anatomy & Physiology last semester.

I have also enjoyed resting today. No napping occurred but lots of sitting with my feet up has 🙂

When I was finally ready for dinner, I made some Chickpea Curry!

NewFoodpics 109

I’d made this dish once before but this time the ingredients were slightly different. I used more curry paste and only added spinach since it was the only veggie I felt like putting in there.

Simple Chickpea CurryMakes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened plain soymilk
  • 1 can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup frozen chopped spinach (thawed)
  • 1-2 tbsp of red curry paste
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • Dash of salt

Directions:

Heat soymilk and curry paste in a medium sized pan over medium heat until bubbling (stirring occasionally) . Add chickpeas and let cook for a few minutes. Add garlic and salt. Add spinach last and allow to simmer until most of the liquid is absorbed. Serve warm alone or with your favorite bread 🙂

NewFoodpics 108

I ended up having two pieces of whole wheat toast!

Then just a few minutes ago, I had some peanut butter because I was feeling a bit hungry.

NewFoodpics 110

Gosh I am so tired! But it is still storming. Once there is any kind of break in the weather, I’m running out with the dog, so I’d better get off here.

Ugh, Josh is yelling at the Giants game. Don’t you just love football season?

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend and have an even better tomorrow. It’s a new week, let’s set some new goals and make a plan to make them happen 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 20, 2009, in Dinner, recipes, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sarah, you are simply inspirational! “let’s set some new goals and make a plan to make them happen “– just what I needed to hear sister! I was just working on making a training schedule and working towards other goals this weekend. Right on! The Lord works in mysterious ways, eh? It is the little things!
    I have been following you since 4th of July weekend and I really enjoy reading your blog!
    I am in the west coast, a mountain town called Prescott in AZ. I have not found any health fitness blogs out here like you east coast, southern girls! Love it! Thanks for the inspiration and have a great week!

  2. Hey Chickie! =) is he a Giants fan???? I miss hearing Sports in the house or ESPN =( (ha I can’t believe I said that)…I was up watching the Primetime Emmys

    So I need some mojo…I had a really BAD weekend…I will blog about it later…I am going to set some goals for this week =)

  3. haha my mom is a HUGE giants fan like biggest ever. I’m all about the jets 🙂

    I totally wanna make that chicpea recipe! It sounds delicious and I love me some good old chick peas 🙂

Leave a Reply

