Reflections on Day 1

Day 1 of my October Challenge went very well. I call it my October Challenge, not because it’s just going to last through October, but because this is a life challenge that merely starts in October. I find the beginning of the month, especially with Day 1 of that month, is the perfect time to start something new or recommit to something you’ve missed doing.

Yesterday, I enjoyed a lot of great vegan-friendly foods (goal #1):

0193

00710

0143

newfoodpics115

sundaynight

I also made myself stay off of email and Facebook as much as possible (goal #5). As convenient as technology can be, sometimes we can become too relient on it and it can drive us mad. For me, I just don’t need to be absorbing all this information about people’s lives (from the important to mundane) all day long like it’s my job. I really need a break! I care about people, especially my closest friends and family and want to know what is going on with them but I can still limit that to before and after work (if I even feel like it then)!

In fact, since I did that, I had what I thought was quite a wonderful TELEPHONE CONVERSATION! with my best friend last night. It is sad that our society has become more email and text message oriented. I mean, my husband texted me from one floor down? What is that? Ha ha.

I also had a great workout yesterday that left me energized (goal #2). I ran a mile with Farrah, which we both noticed we did rather quickly because when we got back we still had a minute left (so it was 9 min/mile)! Then we did lots of weights, including the following:

  • Incline bench presses
  • Incline bicep curls
  • Lateral raises
  • Chest flyes
  • Preacher curls
  • Military shoulder press
  • Abs, abs, abs!

I am quite sore today but it feels good! It had been a week since we’d last worked out, woo hoo. It feels so good to be healthy again after that cold sidelined me for a bit.

Sort of tying in with goals # 4 and 8, I decided that October was NOT TOO LATE to start “Read Through the Bible in One Year” even though I had missed the previous 9 months. So I printed off the sheet and ended up reading Isaiah 62:6-65:25, Philippians 2:19-3:3, Psalm 73:1-28 and Proverbs 24:13-14

At first, I didn’t think too much about it but the more I read the more those verses really spoke to me about issues I am dealing with right now. The Psalms passage especially hit me because it’s exactly what I’ve been hearing from a lot of people in my life right now…they have been good, they believe they have done as God wanted them to and yet they suffer and are unhappy, while others are out there “seem to live such painless lives” and are rich and prosperous. Basically, the point is to check your heart. Why are we worried about other people? We need to be concerned with ourselves and our intentions. I really suggest reading those verses if you are struggling with that issue.

God’s timing is never wrong, I’m telling you. I was meant to start that yesterday and I look forward to what else I will learn from this. 🙂

After dinner last night, I decided all I wanted to do was go upstairs and watch TV. So I put on my pig pajamas and did just that! I should’ve taken a picture of those 😉

I don’t watch very many things anymore, so I sort of just flipped for a while and ended up falling asleep! My husband says he yelled for me and texted me (yet didn’t get up off the couch to check and make sure I was still alive?) but I was out for the count. I woke up at 9:30 to let the dog out and then back to bed I went. Guess my body needed some extra rest (goal # 3) so I’m glad I allowed it to.

So, making efforts toward 5 out of my 8 goals for the month is not too shabby, huh? I’m so glad that I made out a list that I can refer back to now. It really helps me stay motivated!

I have a really great weekend coming up that I can’t wait to experience and share with you. I hope you all have a blessed day and whatever you are striving to do in your life, I hope you reach for it even more today 🙂

Love you all!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 2, 2009, in challenges, changes, diets, Dinner, Lunch, running, Snacks, vegetarianism, weight training, workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great job on a fabulous 1st day (of the rest of your life)…AND doing a 9 min mile; that is fabulous!!!

    Those Chickpeas looks amazing!

    I have been trying to read the bible too…I got it last week at the Car wash, remember? hehe. At first I was hesistant because I thought it was a Mormon Bible (if that makes any sense) but I called my friend and she read me the first line of her’s and they seemed the same (her’s was in spanish). I am not reading it for religious reasons but more for my grandparents. They were both religious and I know that doing this would make them proud. My best childhood memories was my grandpa picking my sister and I on Sundays and taking us to church. I miss them so much.

  2. Hi Sarah –

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!! It’s great to see other vegan’s in Louisville!! I only know a few locally. I have been considering starting a vegan/vegetarian meet up group……would you be interested??

    Carrie

  3. Sounds like you had a very successful challenge day! I am terrible at emails and facebook as a replacement for human interaction and I think it’s an increasing problem!

    What kind of yogurt were you eating in that picture above?

Leave a Reply

