Day 4 – Lazy Sunday

Not only I am sleepy today but my legs are sore from all the walking I did yesterday, so I’ve decided today needs to be at least somewhat lazy for me.

I’ve still got laundry going in the other room but I’m sitting here with my feet up and thinking of taking a nap once this post goes up 🙂

For breakfast this morning, I made pumpkin oats.

002

I don’t know what it was but this bowl just didn’t blow me away. I think it might be the pumpkin, honestly. Perhaps I got an old can or it just tastes better when it’s in season?

Or maybe I need to cook them with some non-dairy milk instead of just water? Hmm…

This bowl contained 1/3 cup oats (cooked with water), 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp chocolate chips, 1 tsp pancake syrup and 1 tbsp peanut butter.

I also tried another Starbucks VIA product today that I got as a sample while I was there yesterday doing the taste test.

001

This Italian Roast was okay but I definitely prefer the Columbian, so I am glad those are the ones I purchased yesterday with my coupon. These are something I probably won’t make a habit out of since a pack of 3 normally costs $2.99 but I’ll definitely use my coupons first!

003

Spiked with some Almond Breeze unsweetened vanilla.

For lunch after church, my parents, Josh and I went to McAlister’s Deli, which I hadn’t been too in a long time.

I ended up getting the Pick Two combo of half a Greek salad (with no feta) and a cup of the vegetarian chili. It was delicious.

4ef63233b621__1254647262000

b0bb4d24d70f__1254647421000

I’ve been doing some thinking and research about soy. I’ve heard a lot of things on both sides, that soy is beneficial, helps prevent cancer, good for bones, etc. But I’ve also heard that soy is dangerous, can not really cause cancer but aid in it, and also screw with your hormonal cycles.

As a woman who has struggled with irregularity of my cycles for as long as I can remember, anything that messes with that jumps on my radar. We’re talking late periods, no periods (for months at a time), heavy, light, painful and not so much. Two are hardly ever the same which makes finding the cause pretty impossible. Since there is not a clear, definitive answer that I know of about soy and it’s relation to this, I don’t know that I will do anything other than be aware.

I don’t need to become so reliant on soy since I have decided to go vegetarian and now vegan. I think I do okay with my non-dairy milks (other than Almond Breeze which does contain soy) but it is in so many other products I use that I think I need to start paying more attention.

What do you guys think? Are you a fan of soy or do you avoid it? Why?

Thanks as always for your feedback and I hope you have a great Sunday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 4, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, changes, diets, dining, Lunch, pumpkin, rest, restaurants, Starbucks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I never really thought much about soy but one day I was listening to Jillian’s radio show and she said that women should not consume too much soy because of cancer. But then you hear that soy can prevent it…it’s all too confusing

  2. I avoid soy too. Mostly because I have irregular periods too and really don’t need anything else messing it up.

  3. I try to keep an eye on my soy intake but sometimes I need it for my proteins. I’d just make sure that you keep an eye on it and how you’re feeling in relation to your intake of soy!

  4. When I made the switch back to vegetarian (I was for about 8 years earlier in life, before returning to meat for a few years) – I relied entirely too much on convenience foods that are packed with soy. I love Morningstar Farms and Boca products, however we have to know that these are still processed foods and they aren’t meant to be eaten every single day.
    It was tough at first to switch from drinking milk ALL of the time… I do live in Wisconsin… I think I was drinking too much soy milk as well.
    Now, I just stick to 1-2 servings of soy products per day and that’s suited me well.
    I haven’t noticed the symptoms you mentioned in my personal wellness, however with the concerns that are out there about soy I am also monitoring my body and keeping aware.

  5. I don’t avoid soy for myself or my two young daughters. Whole soy foods are perfectly safe, unless you are at risk for estrogen (+) breast cancer. Soy does not disrupt mentrual cycles, it does not cause cancer, it does not feminize boys, etc. However, dairy does (with the exception of feminizing boys).

    What you have to watch out for is isolated soy proteins, which you find in a lot of processed foods. If you eat whole and especially fermented soy it is a perfectly safe part of a healthy vegan diet.

    See this article on the soy controversy.

    http://www.examiner.com/x-22107-Louisville-Vegan-Examiner~y2009m9d10-Exploring-the-soy-controversy

  6. Hey sister…decided to weigh in considering I have a new viewpoint on the matter 😉

    Having just finished treatment for breast cancer, in which my receptors were triple positive (estrogen, progesterone, and HER2), I am avoiding soy at all costs. Soy contains phytoestrogens and could possibly trigger an estrogen response in the body…and for me, that could be like food for my breast cancer. For most people with no history of breast cancer I don’t think it’s a huge deal, although I had no risk factors whatsoever other than being a woman and I still got it. But for me, soy is VERY huge deal.

    I would think that if you don’t overdo it on the soy, you would be ok. But I wouldn’t have a completely soy-based diet just because you don’t know.

    • Thank you Erica and everyone else for weighing in. It is so good to hear so many viewpoints and opinions on this matter. I do think that I will keep tofu and soymilk in my diet but try to stay away from the processed soy foods like cheese and veggie burgers, etc. I so appreciate and love all of you, thanks so much!

  1. Pingback: Day 5 : Back to “normal” « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

