Day 4, Part 2 : More soup & salad

For dinner on Sunday, we went to Cracker Barrel, which I quickly learned was very vegetarian/vegan-unfriendly after some quick searches on the internet. Just Google “cracker barrel vegan” and see what you get!

Apparently they cook a lot of their veggies in meat juice (some with ham) and rumor has it, they put lard or some other animal products in their biscuits.

Not sure what to believe, but since Cracker Barrel is known for their “country cooking” I should’ve guessed it would make my life a little challenging.

Luckily, the soup of the day was vegetable! I don’t know if any animal products snuck into this but it didn’t seem like it to me.

a83f74211e06__1254720602000

I also had a tossed salad with fat free Italian dressing on the side. Sadly, the little bugger was mostly iceberg, but the tomatoes were good so all wasn’t lost.

ea74a6132aa8__1254670933000

It was then I realized I had soup and salad TWICE yesterday. Oops!

After dinner, we went to my in-laws house to watch the WWE pay per view. My husband and his dad are HUGE fans and I used to be moreso when I was younger but I pretty much just laugh at it now. At least John Cena is kinda cute though 😉

I’m much more of a real wrestling girl. Love me some UFC!

I wasn’t quite full from the meal so I snacked quite a bit when I got home a few hours later. There is definitely something to be learned from every experience. Doing research ahead of time helps but I think I should’ve packed a snack or eaten a little before dinner perhaps. Live and learn!

Snacks were some PB/chocolate chip toast and 1/4 cup 5 grain hot cereal with more PB. I have to pace myself on this PB or its going to run out too fast! Remind me to buy 2 jars next time.

001

002

I think I may have overloaded my stomach with something yesterday because I’ve had some distress off and on. Perhaps too many grains (I also had some all natural crackers at CB – which was surprising) at once when I’m not used to having that many.

I was glad to have remained vegan (I hope) for another day but I was definitely challenged. I also realized I am relying too heavily on convenient foods and I want to cook more veggie-centric dishes.

Things to plan and look forward to!

On the other fronts that I mentioned last week, I am doing okay. I tend to get a little unfocused on my goals when I have too many so I am just taking things one at a time.

I just have to be intentional in doing little things here and there. I really need to go post an Operation Beautiful note, I’ve been wanting to do that forever. Now that it’s on the blog, I have to do it right?

Hope you had an awesome Sunday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in challenges, changes, diets, dining, Dinner, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. are you sneaking posts in? I swear this was not here before lol…not that I stalk your page ((((wink)))) okay mabe a little ha

    dude I brought 2 Jars of PB on Friday and one is already gone lol…and my job jar is finishing mañana…this other jar better last me until Friday when I do my weekly shopping =)

    Dude John Cena is haaaaawt (darth vader voice) lol

Leave a Reply

