Day 7: I’m not hungry, I…

Hello friends!

After my last post, I did a lot of pondering and my head is overflowing with thoughts right now. I find that is the best time to put them on the blog πŸ™‚

So, let’s talk about today’s eats so far.

This morning, I had a great green monster made with 1 cup Almond Breeze, 1 sliced banana, 1 tbsp wheat germ, 1 tbsp peanut butter, a few handfuls of spinach and a few handfuls of ice. It was tasty!

Picture 012

But it made me soooo cold. I’m going to watch the weather forecasts but I’m afraid I may have to retire green monsters for the Fall/Winter. However, I want to make it a personal challenge to sneak some greens in by using other methods (like Heather’s green oats, for example). I’m all about following the seasons.

For a snack, I had…you guessed it…more nuts.

Picture 014

After this snack, I got up a did a 15-minute walk. It is on my “schedule” to run today but that’s not going to happen. I am too sore from yesterday’s workout, so I think two short walks and perhaps some yoga when I get home are good enough for today. Yep.

Lunch was something I should never do. I learned a long time ago that peanut butter and jelly sandwiches do not fill me up. However, I’m a girl on a budget this month so I thought I’d give them another try.

Picture 015

With some mixed veggies, I felt pretty satisfied after I ate. But two hours later when I got back from class, I was more than ready for my snack!

Picture 016

I also had some hot chamomile tea.

After this, I really got to thinking about hunger cues and realized it was time to check in with myself again. Me and myself had sort of gotten out of synch when I got sick last week.

A little while after enjoying my snack, I thought “Great. I’m hungry again. Time to go to the bookstore and get a snack.” It had almost become an automatic response. So I waited a while and thought it through. Am I really hungry? Or is there something else going on?

After some water, another 15-minute walk, and lots of talking to myself, I came to these conclusions (for today):

  1. I am not hungry, I am bored. Bored with work today (need to get focused) and bored with my food. PB&J as good as it is, doesn’t fill me up and is rather boring. Especially when I ate it for part of my dinner last night. Bored could also be replaced with dissatisfied.
  2. I am not hungry, I have a sore throat. Sometimes I can mistake thirst for hunger. I have been experiencing a sore throat the past few days due to the ever-changing temperatures in the Ohio Valley. So I think I am mistaking a need for more fluids as hunger. I’m looking forward to grabbing a throat drop and some more tea when I get home!
  3. I am not hungry because I am not feeling anything. When I am truly hungry my stomach will growl. That is not happening at all right now. It’s true that there are times when we need to eat even when we are not completely hungry, but sitting at your desk for two more hours before you get off work is not one of those times.
  4. I am not hungry, I’m addicted. When I got sick last week, water tasted like absolute crap to me, so I downed lots of fizzy beverages which have been known to be a culprit when it comes to “faux hunger” in my case. Artificial sweeteners trick my brain into thinking it needs more food. So I’m kicking them to the curb, yet again. Yes, today is the first day so it obviously carried on beyond my sickness.
  5. I am not hungry, I’m tired/sore/etc. There are a million other things going on in my life that sometimes make me want to eat. That is why it is so important to be in touch with yourself, at all times. Today, I am feeling tired and sore. Another day, I could be happy and energetic. All of those feelings are not hunger. It’s easy to get it all confused.

What about you? Are there times when you know you aren’t hungry, even though all you can think about is eating something? What do you do?

For our Girls Night Potluck dinner tonight, I am making minestrone soup. I made it this morning, using a pre-packaged mix…something I will NEVER do again. Live and learn, right? Hope so.

Picture 013

This package looks innocent enough, in fact, I made this back in September 2008 and thought nothing of it (other than it was good and convenient, as we had experienced a bad wind storm earlier in the week). That was because I was not eating a vegan diet then.

I’m a bit disappointed in myself because while at the store over the weekend, I had all the ingredients to make Courtney’s taco soup, but I chose to save money and get this soup mix, which was on sale for $2.99. Not much less than the ingredients for the other soup, but still less. Unfortunately, I compromised more than I knew. I even glanced at the ingredients looking for certain offenders. I must’ve been blind that day.

**How could I have missed chicken fat and beef stock?!**

Don’t just assume because a soup has no meat in it that it doesn’t have animal products. Lesson learned. Going to take and eat the soup anyway, but I’ll be more careful from now on.

I’ve sort of had to compare this transition into vegan eating to transitioning into a healthy lifestyle. I didn’t do it overnight. Lord knows I made a ton of mistakes along the way. Lots of ups and downs. I’m not perfect. But I’m learning! πŸ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 7, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, changes, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I tend to trick myself into hunger after dinner. I’ve had a decent size meal, I should be satisfied, but I just want that little bit more. Usually it’s centered around carbs, way too late to be eating and wasted calories. I try to regulate this, but don’t succeed 100% of the time.
    As for your ‘Vegan Voyage’, that is a long journey girl! Most of us aren’t ready/willing to challenge ourselves in this way.It won’t happen overnight, but YOU WILL get to the place where you are comfortable in your vegan decisions.

  2. None of us are perfect. No worries my friend – if we didn’t make mistakes, how would we ever learn anything.

    Glad you’re feeling better this week. I do the same thing when I’m sick – down fizzy drink after fizzy drink, but Diet Sprite or Sprite Zero…whatever they’re calling it these days is usually all I want. Good luck kicking it to the curb. It’s always hard for me to break the habit.

    Yes, yes, green oats are definitely the way to go during the cooler months. Just like your Green Monster, I promise your oats won’t taste green. πŸ™‚

    I am so bad at truly listening to my hunger cues. I’m usually just bored or thirsty. If so, I’ll make a really filling low cal smoothie with lots of water. That usually satiates me. And yeah, as good as PB & J tastes, never fills my belly either.

    • Thanks Heather πŸ˜‰ Me too with the clear diet soda…they were all out of Sprite Zero so I downed an entire 2-liter of Diet 7 up in about 3 hours one day.

      I’m excited to try green oats, I think I will have to start this next week…our highs are only going to be in the 50’s! Eek.

  3. I tend to eat when I am bored (and lonely) which I is why the weekends are the worse time for me because I want to eat everything in sight.

    Sometimes I eat just to eat, not for hunger but just for taste. I can sit there and be stuffed like a pig but continue to eat only to taste the food.

    I need to listen to my body more often and enjoy food but know how to control myself too.

    • Bored is the worst for me. And I also have a bad habit of wanting to try a lot fun stuff that I buy at the grocery store. It’s hard to do it all the time, but when we are able to listen to our bodies, it is such a good feeling.

      With the holidays coming up, I think it was a good time for this conversation πŸ™‚

  4. i forget to drink water during the day (bad, bad) and then think i’m starving when really, i’m super super thirsty. i started keeping water in my car because i’d be our running around and think i needed to buy a snack (and snacks, when you’re not at home, are never too good for you…), when all i needed was water!

  5. peanutbutterfingers

    This post was too cute! I have many “I’m not hungry, I’m…” moments… “bored” is probably the most common… “avoiding other work” is up there too! πŸ™‚

  6. I hear you – I’ve developed a habit of eating really late at night even though I *know* I’m not actually hungry; I just want something to do while I surf the web or whatever. Sometimes just brushing my teeth helps, because then I feel like I’m in the bedtime mindset and not the “ravenous snack monster” mindset. πŸ˜‰ I bet chewing gum or something would work equally well during the day!

    Thanks, by the way, for your comment on my “about me” type page on my blog! It’s nice to find some kindred spirits who are interested in similar things… *and* to know that it’s okay that I don’t have my entire life plan (!!!) figured out yet. Hehe. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kelly! I definitely think brushing my teeth helps. I also live in a townhouse apartment, so if I went upstairs, I would be away from the kitchen and food. I just have to remember to do these things πŸ˜‰ You are welcome, I look forward to reading more about you soon.

  1. Pingback: Day 8: Marching on « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Oatmeal for dinner + more new products « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: But don’t you miss…? « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

