Day 9: Peanut Butter Monster

TGIF! What are your plans for the weekend?

Tonight I am taking a trip to Barnes & Noble with my BFF to read and talk, pretty much our favorite thing to do. Then tomorrow, Josh and I are heading out of town to visit his grandma since we have decided to stay local for the holidays (yippee)!

Yesterday’s lunch leftovers were awesome. Even though I won’t buy this soup mix again, it was good while it lasted.

Picture 021

This lunch was very filling and I didn’t get hungry for my snack until a few hours later, so that was awesome πŸ™‚

Picture 022

Uh oh, time to get some more hummus!

After work, I headed to the gym to meet Farrah for a workout. We’re both still experiencing quite a bit of leg/hip pain from our squats and runs earlier in the week so we took it easy with a 5 minute warm up (walking) on the treadmill.

Then, we started to do the Jennifer Love Hewitt workout from theΒ October issue of Shape magazine, but found it to be incredibly awkward for us.

The first move was challenging (side step ups/leg kick/holding a dumbbell), but then the second move proved nearly impossible for me (trying to stand up with one leg from seated position) and painful for Farrah whose knee was starting to hurt. So we ditched it and did our own thing the rest of the time, including:

  • Chest flyes, chest presses, reverse flyes
  • Upright rows
  • Abs (crunches, side crunches, etc.)
  • Tricep extensions and kickbacks
  • Bicep curls
  • Shoulder presses
  • Push ups!

I really love upper body workouts. The difference in my chest, shoulders and arms now from where they used to be is one of my favorite things about myself. It’s good to focus on the positive πŸ™‚

We had quite a bit of rain roll through the area overnight and into today. On the way home last night, the clouds were really cool to look at:

Picture 023

When I got home, I so did not feel like cooking (I had planned to make a lentil curry) and while debating over having oatmeal for dinner, I ended up heating up some leftover barley and tossing in some mixed veggies and barbecue sauce. Weird, but it totally worked!

Picture 024

Then I nibbled on some chocolate chips and PB while we watched “A Nightmare on Elm Street 4” which means apparently, I am only tired of the bread part of that snack, ha ha.

Picture 025

Picture 026

~~

Today, I have declared myself the Peanut Butter Monster!

First off, I had oats with peanut butter and banana for breakfast, which was so delicious on a cool, rainy morning.

Picture 027

And both of my snacks and lunch revolve around PB. By the end of the day, I will have had 4 tablespoons! Oh well, at least it’s good fat right? πŸ˜‰

Something that made me smile today…

Picture 028

My friend Will gave me this coffee cup for my birthday (way belated but no matter). It says my name, Sarah –Β Meaning: Princess, followed by these words:

You truly possess

A charm special and rare.

You can hold your head high —

You have that special air.

To your many admirers,

You seem almost royal.

Your devoted followers

Will always be loyal.

Because of your name,

Enchantment and romance

Will fill your life long

With laughter, song and dance.

I hope at least that last part is true. πŸ™‚

Happy Friday everyone! Have a blessed day.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 9, 2009, in articles, Breakfast, coffee, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, movies, products, Snacks, weight training, workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yup it is! I have to remind myself that over and over again…GOOD FAT GOOD FAT GOOOOOOO FAT!

    OHHH I love Freddy! did you see the preview for the new one??? I can’t wait to see it. Out of Michael, Jason, and Freddy; Freddy is def my favorite. He kept me up at night on MANY occasions ha

    This weekend should be good. Saturday I work at the gym and then I have to meet cable company so they can replace my box and I am making din din for my niece and sister. Sunday and Monday are up in the air…

    • I am definitely excited for the new one but a little nervous too. Remakes always worry me πŸ˜‰ Especially because A Nightmare on Elm Street is my favorite out of all the “series” of horror movies. I remember the first time I saw it, I was in like 4th or 5th grade and it scared the be-jesus out of me, lol. Have fun this weekend!

  2. oatmeal with peanut butter & bananas was just meant to be πŸ™‚ so delicious!!!
    love all the veggies too.

  3. There’s nothing wrong with being a Peanut Butter Monster!

    The barley dish looks fantastic. Enjoy your weekend!

  4. The best thing about our weekend plans right now: NO WEEKEND PLANS! Hehe πŸ˜‰ After a full week of school and basketball games and practices, I am looking forward to sleeping in this weekend and not doing anything. Ahhhhh……

    I have found myself consuming a lot of PB lately, too. I’ve been using the PB2 and love it. I also got a jar of the chocolate PB2 but have yet to break it open, hey maybe THAT’S a weekend plan! πŸ™‚

    Oh I know the rain has been super icky here, too. It started yesterday and has is still off/on. Our rivers and creeks are rolling today for sure! Kids were hoping either flu/flood would get school cancelled today but no such luck πŸ˜‰ But I told them, at least it’s Friday…they can stand it for another few hours.

    Have a great weekend, Sarah!

  5. How sweet of your friend to give you that cup! I am actually in a PB slump- I temporarily lost my love for it, but that will change, I’m sure!

    Have a great time at B&N..it’s my favorite thing to do!

  6. One of my favorite oatmeal dishes is peanut butter and banana! I know what I’m having tomorrow morning now…

  7. I don’t think I will ever tire of oats-bananas-nut butter! Visiting B&N is a fav thing of mine too – bookstores are always so fun to visit and browse.

    Love the blog, just added you to my reader!

Leave a Reply

