Day 9, Pt. 2: Books and new tea

Friday’s breakfast was so good that I didn’t need a snack until almost 11! And thus continued the day I was a peanut butter monster 🙂

001

Before…

002

After!

For lunch, I had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a side of broccoli. Not the most exciting lunch but it managed to fill me up that day even though I usually have trouble with PB&J being enough.

003

005

Just before 2, Farrah cancelled our workout so I knew I would be on my own to exercise! I decided to just push it back to the end of the day.

She also brought up an interesting point to me. She said she wanted to get back into a regular running program and do less strength training because she is feeling “puffy” and isn’t fitting into her jeans as well right now as she’d like to.

I told her I have the opposite problem! When I run more, I tend to plateau or gain weight because I eat more because my appetite is out of control. And I absolutely love strength training because it makes me feel stronger, fitter and it has done more for my body than hours upon hours of cardio ever has.

This just goes to show you: WE ARE ALL DIFFERENT. Find what works for you and don’t be afraid to do it, even if it means a few less workouts with a buddy 😉

Before leaving work, I snacked on a carrot and some more PB!

007

008

Then I hit the gym! It was a nasty rainy day, so I jumped on the treadmill and did a quasi-speed work run/walk. It went something like this:

  • 0:00-5:00 Walk/warm up (3.0-3.8 mph)
  • 5:00-10:00 Jog at 5.0 mph
  • 10:00-13:00 Run at 5.5 mph
  • 13:00-14:00 Sprint at 6.0 mph
  • 14:00-15:00 Recover at 5.0 mph
  • 15:00-18:00 Run at 5.7 mph
  • 18:00-19:00 Sprint at 6.5 mph
  • 19:00-20:00 Recover at 5.0 mph
  • 20:00-23:00 Run at 5.8 mph
  • 23:00-24:00 Sprint at 7.0 mph
  • 24:00-25:00 Recover, walking at 3.8
  • 25:00-28:00 Run at 5.9 mph
  • 28:00-29:00 Sprint at 7.5 mph
  • 29:00-31:00 Recover walk 3.8 mph
  • 31:00-35:00 Run at 6.0 mph, decreasing gradually to 5.5
  • 35:00-40:00 Cool down, walk at 3.5 decreasing gradually to 2.5

Total workout: 3.25 miles in 40:00

Phew, I was a hot sweaty mess afterwards and thankfully I stretched for a long time afterwards because I feel great today, no soreness!

At the gym, I also got the chance to post my FIRST Operation Beautiful note 🙂

uoflgym

I had so much fun that I quickly threw another one inside of the locker I used.

010

009

I really got a kick out of doing this and I can’t wait to post another one. I have to say, it’s kind of addicting! It made my day and I hope someone else’s too 🙂

Dinner was a weird throw it together meal. I was going to make oatmeal, but Josh graciously donated his potato that he hadn’t eaten yet so I went with it.

012

Baked potato with S+P, hot sauce and organic ketchup with a side of mixed veggies. I know it doesn’t look like much but that potato was huge and definitely filled me up.

Afterwards, Court and I went to Barnes and Noble where I got to check out Alicia Silverstone’s new book “The Kind Diet.” I did not purchase the book (yet) but I did take some notes.

Alicia eats a vegan diet (no meat, dairy, etc.) but she’s also very aware of other things like the dangers of white sugar, HFCS, being too dependent on caffeine, etc. Her approach is neat because it basically, gradually advises you to free yourself of anything in your diet that might be harmful to your body, mind or spirit.

You also have two options with the book: You can “flirt” with the Kind Diet or you can go full blown. She also discusses all the benefits of the diet including your health, the environment, animal welfare, etc.

There are some really great recipes in there too. I’m going to put it on my “Wish List” for sure 🙂

At B&N cafe, I got to try a new tea! This one was called African Autumn and I loved it. It was a little on the fruity side but not overwhelmingly so. It is also a red tea if you couldn’t tell.

013

When I got home, I was hungry again, so I had something I’m apparently not tired of yet even though I thought I was 😉

014

I have so much more to share with you guys but I’m going to have to call it a night and catch you guys up tomorrow.

Hope you had an amazing weekend!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 10, 2009, in books, diets, Dinner, Lunch, running, Snacks, tea, workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I really like the sound of this Operation Beautiful =)…that would make my day.

    Great workout chickie!

  2. Oh my God – love the peanut butter bread with chocolate chips! I’ve never thought of that, but it will be done soon! I just found your blog through a few others – it’s great. I’ve just started my own and am completely intimidated and new to it – also have no idea what the direction will end up being – but I love to write – if I could find a way to make a living off it I would! Take care.

    • Yay! Good for you. Just work at it and see where it goes, it will happen. I love writing too, that’s one of the reasons I ended up here. Trust me if blogging paid the bills, it’s all I would do, haha. Good luck to you! Thanks for the love 😉

  3. I think Operation Beautiful is such a great idea! I love the concept behind it, and can’t wait to read Caitlin’s book when it comes out. How exciting!

    Isn’t it interesting how different types of workouts can affect people in different ways? But you’re right, that it just goes to show how different our bodies really are from each other.

  4. That African Autumn tea looks awesome. I’ll have to try it!!!

Leave a Reply

