Day 11: Finally, new recipes!

Happy Sunday friends 🙂

I started off this morning with some really good eats, I can’t believe I haven’t tried it before (or if I have, it’s been 100 years).

001

Oats with peanut butter and half a huge, ripe, juicy peach. Mmmm…thank God I have another half of that peach left, yesssss!

I had a cup of black coffee and didn’t eat again until lunch (that stuff was good) when we went to Quizno’s with my parents.

I got the small veggie sub on wheat with no cheese and some Sun Chips.

e895338a2ab7__1255251764000

I had the Garden Salsa Sun Chips until I read the ingredients and saw three different kinds of cheeses, so I put those back and got the good ol’ regular.

I spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning and then snacked on some regular peanuts before heading to a concert at our church.

007

These were just plain, unsalted peanuts and were a welcome change since I’ve been on mixed nuts overload here lately.

For dinner, I made a new recipe from a cookbook called Vegan Planet, which you may have seen before.

005

I tried to make a guacamole recipe out of here back in September which didn’t turn out too well. But I am hopeful for the ones I picked out this week.

First, I decided to try out the Tuscan White Beans with garlic and sage.

006

Ingredients lined up.

002

This was the first time I have EVER used a fresh herbs and this was cheaper than it’s jarred alternative!

003

I followed the recipe exactly (except cut in half) and threw in some red onion for some added flava 😉

004

I didn’t have any rice or barley on hand but then I remembered that Kath had used oats before in place of this, so I chose my 5 grain cereal!

Finished product:

008

Yum-O! This was so tasty, I could really taste the garlic and sage. Oops, I forgot to mention that I used great northern beans instead of cannellini but I think it turned out great.

I’m so glad I had a recipe success!

Guess what I’m having for a snack? Hahaha…

Hope you had a great weekend and make sure to start Monday off good. Do something good for yourself and your health 🙂

G’nite.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 11, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, recipes, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the new recipe. Looks yummy, filling, healthy, and cheap. I’ll need to be making it!

  2. This morning I was in bed and I was trying to motivate myself to workout and nothing was working until I came across your post

    “Hope you had a great weekend and make sure to start Monday off good. Do something good for yourself and your health ”

    THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!

    that got me moving this morning =)

  3. I love starting out the week with new recipes! The tuscan white beans sounds so cozy and fallish. Perfect. Have a wonderful Monday! 🙂

  4. That recipe looks delish! Throwing in the red onion sounds like a superb idea. I love onions.

  5. Looooove red onion–great addition!

  6. The new recipe sounds great! It’s also interesting to see how many foods have dairy or added ingredients that you wouldn’t expect- you are very diligent in your new lifestyle and I think that’s great!

  7. Vegan Planet is a great book. We love the Great Grain and Veggie Burgers from there.

    I have a great simple guac. recipe in my Examiner column if you are looking for a guac recipe.

  1. Pingback: Day 12: Getting into the groove « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

