Day 13: Walking fool

Even though Tuesdays usually hit me like most people’s Monday’s do, it was really a great day, I have no complaints!

For breakfast, I had oats with peanut butter and half a peach 🙂

Picture 029

Mid morning I snacked on some more peanuts (sorry my snacks are so repetitive)!

Picture 030

Before lunch, I went for a 50-minute walk with some co-workers of mine. It was so nice to catch up, we all used to walk together a lot back in the day 😉 The weather was cool though, so I think we walked even faster than usual to stay warm!

I was going to eat lunch before I left (at noon) but when 11:30 rolled around I just wasn’t that hungry. In the past, I would’ve just eaten anyway because of time, but I chose not to and ate when I got back to my desk. Even at 1:00, I didn’t have my normal “lunch” appetite, so I was glad I waited. And that I brought a smaller portion of food.

Leftover enchilada! Just one…I don’t know how I ate two the other night 🙂

Picture 031

I really love this Vegan Planet cookbook. Have I said that yet?

After such a spicy lunch, I found myself wanting something sweet. There is a candy jar in the office with some chocolate selections but none of which are vegan. It’s amazing how choosing this diet for myself has actually prevented me from eating some things I shouldn’t be anyway!

Luckily, I found this “stash”ed in my desk drawer…

Picture 032

Yay, that totally worked!

Lunch kept me full for a while but later in the afternoon, before hitting the gym, I snacked on some carrots and hummus. There is a lot of orange in my diet these days 😉

Picture 033

At the gym, I warmed up on the treadmill while reviewing my flashcards for my Exercise Science exam (which is today). I ended up trotting for 11 minutes!

Then I did some weights and such (two sets each, except for the abs):

  • Chest presses
  • Squats
  • Bicep curls
  • Tricep overhead extensions
  • Shoulder shrugs
  • Shoulder overhead presses
  • Tricep kickbacks
  • Dead lifts
  • Upright rows
  • Regular crunches
  • Side crunches
  • Reverse crunches
  • Toe touch crunches (legs straight up, reaching for toes)
  • Back extensions

That was quite a workout. And I am just the right amount of sore today 🙂

When I got home, I snacked on a piece of whole wheat bread with peanut butter.

Picture 034

Why? Well, I had worked up quite an appetite on the way home. And I had to run back out and meet my friend Candy for another WALK!

I’m not sure how far we went, I’ll have to check on mapmyrun.com later, but it was a little less than an hour. I’m guessing 2-3 miles. Fun times 🙂

When I got home, it was finally dinner time and I made another concoction from Vegan Planet (I think I’m going all Julie Powell on this book, ha ha).

Picture 037

This recipe involved one of my favorite foods that I hadn’t had in a while due to being unable to find a decent one.

Picture 035

Now that I know what to look for (dark color, soft, etc.) I was able to find an amazing avocado at the store this weekend, on sale for 98 cents too!

I swapped a few ingredients in this recipe: it called for vegetarian chili, but I just used my leftover black beans and diced tomatoes. I also subbed a green pepper for the red and omitted the chile pepper since my diced tomatoes contained chiles already. Other than that, I think I kept everything the same (only a one serving sized recipe instead of 4). I used half the avocado.

Picture 036

Man did it feel good to get all those veggies in! I can’t wait to make this again since I still have leftover ingredients. After I took this picture, I found some green taco sauce in the fridge so I drizzled a little bit on there as “dressing”. The recipe calls for vegan cheese and vegan sour cream but I wasn’t feeling it. It was perfect just like this.

Oops, I totally forgot the black olives! Will have to use those next time.

I don’t think I’m ever really going to get tired of this snack either 🙂

Picture 038

I ate this while watching the results show of “Dancing with the Stars”. Sadly, even with my 11 phone calls to vote, my man Chuck Liddell was voted off this week 😦

I didn’t think he was the worst one on there and I think going first on Monday night sort of set him up too. But with the dances getting more difficult as the week’s go on, it was bound to happen before long. I really don’t care who wins so I probably won’t watch the show much anymore. Darn!

Anyway, that was my Tuesday. How was yours?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 14, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

