Day 14: Pancakes = Study fuel

Good morning friends!

I woke up super early this morning to make a very special breakfast. Usually I save these for the weekends when I have more time, but I really had a certain craving, plus I figured it would be good brain food to help me on my Exercise Science exam today. I feel very prepared but a good review the morning of never hurts πŸ˜‰

Picture 044

What did I make?

Picture 039

That’s right! It says PUMPKIN PIE PANCAKES!

The only thing I had to buy for this recipe was pumpkin because I had everything else on hand already. I love it when that happens. Well, pumpkin and this rice milk which I am trying for the first time. I loved the 365 brand from Whole Foods, so I’m hoping this one is just as good. It was on sale for $1.89 but it has a little more sugar than I would like (they didn’t have unsweetened).

Picture 040

I put all the ingredients together (note: I reduced the sugar from 3 tbsp down to just 1 and it was brown sugar I found by accident). How good does this look?

Picture 041

From start to finish, it actually didn’t take me very long to make all of these (20 minutes maybe).

Picture 042

I decided to have a little fun and add some chocolate chips πŸ™‚

Picture 043

Finished product topped with peanut butter and a drizzle of syrup (vegan, I checked).

Picture 045

I ended up wanting some fruit with this, so I cut up half a banana and ate a slice with each bite.

Picture 046

Holy heck. Not kidding here…BEST FREAKING PANCAKES EVER! They were light and fluffy and the pumpkin really came through but not overwhelmingly so. I also did not notice a difference in using just one tbsp of sugar as opposed to three (three is just too much for real). I think I might even get away with leaving it out next time since my rice milk is sweetened.

I could’ve eaten more (and almost did) but I stopped myself because I knew I was full and didn’t want to overdo it. I think I’mΒ in love…

The best part is…there are leftovers!

Picture 047

Thank goodness these are at home and I’m not or else I’d be eating them for lunch too, ha ha.

Happy Wednesday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 14, 2009, in Breakfast, products, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Hey, thank you for the “step by step” for the pancakes………I am not the best at making them and that is helpful! I keep seeing them all over the health blog world and plan to try to make them on Sunday.

    =) Laura @ Finding A Healthy Balance….after a 100+ POUND weight loss!!!

  2. Made my own version of this Sunday, love pumpkin pancakes!!

  3. HAHA those pancake pictures made me crack up lol… it looks like you ate Charlie Brown ha

  4. I enjoy your blog Sarah!! What super cute pancakes. I like the smileys πŸ™‚

  5. HAHA Those pancakes look AWESOME!

  6. Awesome idea! I always put my leftover pancakes staight from the freezer to the toaster – they get a bit crunchy on the outside, but still soft on the inside – yum! πŸ˜€

  7. Sounds fantastic! Yeah, if I had those leftover they would be beckoning me from the kitchen all day…dangerous! But oh so good! I will have to try them. I bet the kids would even like them, especially with the chocolate chips πŸ˜‰

  8. Your pancakes look incredible. I made pumpkin pie pancakes using iowagirleats recipe, and I just fell in love. They may beat chocolate chip for me! Just found your blog and can’t wait to read more!

  9. Where is the recipe for these pumpkin pancakes? I can’t wait to make them.

  1. Pingback: Day 14, pt. 2: Ladies night « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Day 15: Leftovers & reflections « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Day 15, pt. 3: Best Burger Ever! « See Sarah Eat

  4. Pingback: Day 17: Target time! « See Sarah Eat

  5. Pingback: Vegan pomegranate pancakes « See Sarah Eat

  6. Pingback: Easter 2010 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

