Day 15, pt. 2: Out to lunch

After snacking on some peanuts this morning…

Picture 055

…I got to have lunch with my Aunt! I haven’t been out to lunch during the work week in forever. I’ve made such a habit of bringing my lunch everyday, which is good because it keeps me healthy and saves a lot of money too. But it was a nice treat on this Friday Eve.

We went to J. Gumbo’s which has a few vegetarian options. I’m not 100% sure they are vegan though…guess I should’ve asked?

I ordered the Garden Creole because they were out of White Chili. That’s okay, I’ve had a lot of beans the past few days anyway, ha ha 😉

c7d292552628__1255593261000

This dish contains: Cajun tomato sauce made with a golden roux, bell peppers and a splash of white wine. As I copied that, I didn’t know what “roux” was, so I Googled it.

From Wikipedia: “Roux (pronounced /ˈruː/) is a cooked mixture of wheat flour and fat, traditionally clarified butter.” Uh oh.

I totally avoided the Bumblebee Stew because it described it as having a “creamy sweet and spicy butter” sauce and went with what may have had butter instead. Hmm…well, I did want the White Chili anyway, so it’s not entirely my fault 😉

I am deeming this Vegan Fail #3. Three occurrences out of 15 days isn’t too bad, right? If I’m really counting, #1 would be the ranch dressing I ate at a party and #2 would be that stupid soup mix I bought last week. I should’ve included this in my post from earlier today but I have to say, eating at restaurants is the hardest part of being trying to be a vegan!

I also need some new snack ideas!

I unwrapped this not too long ago and it just wasn’t that exciting. I tried to pretend it was something special by wrapping it in wax paper (ha, really just out of plastic and trying to use stuff up)!

Picture 056

Half a peanut butter sandwich it is.

If you have any good vegan snack ideas that aren’t candy or granola bars, please leave them in the comments 🙂

On a positive note, I got to leave ANOTHER Operation Beautiful note today in the J. Gumbo’s one-seater ladies bathroom!

e4e3e054b5f8__1255595185000

Looking forward to a short run + weight training after work and then a relaxing night at home with the doggie while Josh is at a concert. I might have to bake something 🙂

What are you doing tonight?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 15, 2009, in exercise, Lunch, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Sarah –

    Eating out is initially the hardest part, but it gets much easier. You just have to get used to asking when you aren’t sure. Part of it is getting over the uneasiness of asking, part of it is just remembering to ask.

    My best advice is to ask, ask proudly, and let people know you are vegan when they ask. It’s a great way to spread the message, and the only way to encourage your favorite places to include vegan options.

    Keep up the good work!!

  2. I see no ‘fail’ in your road to veganism, just educational opportunities!
    Tonight I have class and then I have my eyes set on a pot pie I bought at Whole Foods.

  3. You are doing such a great job… I wish I could give some snacking ideas but I am not really sure what you can eat. Sorry.

    I need to jump on the Operation Smile band wagon… I bet you make so many women smile =)

  4. I think you’re doing a great job – I’ve been vegan for 6 years and still have some goof ups, but it gets easier. thanks for sharing your journey.

    some snack ideas: veggies and hummus or baba ganoush, whole grain chips and salsa, a small bowl of cereal with vegan milk, lara bars, oven roasted chick peas, fruit and nut butter, air popped popcorn (with agave/stevia and cinnamon or spray oil and curry powder or garlic powder…endless ideas!) or even a vegan brand of microwave popcorn, edamame.

Leave a Reply

