Day 15, pt. 3: Best Burger Ever!

After work, I met Farrah for the most awesome workout!

First, we got on the treadmill and did 2+ miles in 28:00 minutes, alternating walking with running each quarter-mile. We got to where we were running at 6.5 mph and walking at 4.0 so I can see where we’ll get even faster and perhaps start walking less.

Afterwards, we did a killer weight routine, doing each exercise for 25 reps:

  • Chest presses (12.5 lb dumbbells)
  • Seated row machine (30 lbs)
  • Upright rows (12 lb bar)
  • Bicep curls (12 lb bar)
  • Tricep extensions (12 lb bar)
  • Seated shoulder press (7.5 lb dumbbells)
  • Front raises (5 lb dumbbells)
  • Lateral raises (2.5 lb dumbbells)

You can tell I was getting worn out by the end there! We also did a great abs routine, utilizing our legs, which reminded me a lot of pilates. We’re going to be hurting tomorrow 😉

Now, onto the food…

The other night, I declared the pumpkin pie pancakes I made to be the best pancakes ever. Well now I have a new place holder for Best Burger Ever!

Introducing Five Star Foodies artichoke burger:

002

I saw these burgers on Heather’s blog and immediately contacted the company for more information. Valerie at Five Star Foodies got back with me so fast and offered to send me a FREE SAMPLE of the burgers to try out.

She also told me more about the company, the best method to use in cooking the burgers and where I can find the products at stores near where I live. I was also impressed by how quickly they arrived!

What’s not too like: I love artichokes and the burgers are vegan too. But how did they taste?

003

I used the method Valerie suggested (pan frying) and took a little nibble before I dressed it up to get a good idea of what it would taste like. I could definitely taste the artichokes and it was even a little bit spicy!

004

I also had some sugar snap peas that I got at the store on the way home. I was craving some warm veggies since it’s so cold today! I swear, I thought it was December for a moment today.

001

I topped the burger with avocado, organic ketchup and placed it between two slices of whole wheat toast. Awesome dinner!

005

I…will…never…buy…Boca…again.

Now I’m about to devour the snack that never gets old, only this time I’m using some of the leftover bread from last night’s dinner.

006

Josh is at a concert tonight so I’m at home watching scary movies by myself, ahhh! I just watched “One Missed Call” and it was okay…more creepy than scary. But I did turn a few extra lights on just incase!

Now I’m going to watch “Shutter” in an attempt to stay up and wait for Josh to get home. I hope he’s having a good time, poor guy. He’s been coughing and not sleeping a lot lately 😦

Anyway, thanks for stopping by. Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 15, 2009, in Dinner, movies, products, reviews, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. oh wow, artichoke burgers? looks great! i wonder if they have that particular brand at any of my grocery stores…

  2. Great workout! I love artichoke-anything! Did your contact mention what stores carry those burgers?

  3. Oh those burgers sound really good; I already love artichoke so I might like these too. I am honestly not that impressed with Boca Burgers…I brought a pack and ended up tossing it out.

  4. Great workout! Artichoke burgers, sounds interesting. I’ll have to look for them next time I’m at a WF.

    Hope Josh isn’t coming down with something. Feel better, Josh!

  1. Pingback: Day 16: Oops, my camera! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

