Day 18.3: At long last

I definitely got a work out in today! I went to town on my apartment, cleaning both bathrooms, polishing off all my wood furniture, dusting, vacuuming, sweeping, mopping…whew! I feel good and tired at the same time 🙂

When it came time for dinner, I didn’t feel like a salad again…ahh! I’m going to have to take one for lunch tomorrow!

I also was pretty hungry since I hadn’t eaten since lunch so I didn’t have the time to really prepare a recipe either, so I made a quick meal out of stuff in the freezer.

004

Five Star Foodies artichoke burger on Ezekiel muffin with some frozen mixed veggies.

I got the veggies at Target at not only were they cheaper than Kroger brand (89 cents vs. $1.19) they tasted better too! I’ll have to remember that.

Just a few short minutes ago, I embarked on a recipe I had been planning on making for some time now and I finally got around to it.

Any guesses?

005

Contents: Two frozen sliced bananas. I put them in the freezer last night.

If you guessed Gena’s banana soft serve, you are correct!

At first I thought, with the one ingredient and easy preparation method, something was going to go wrong. But I was pleasantly surprised when I started the food processor.

006

It really does look like ice cream!

007

Creamy, sweet, bananas. I will never eat ice cream again. And this is so much cheaper than any non-dairy brands. Bananas are one of the cheapest fruits at the store!

Not to mention the only ingredient is bananas so there is no worrying about artificial ingredients or too much unnatural sugar. I love this!

008

Mari, you have to try this! LOL.

It tastes so good and I feel good about eating it because it’s just like eating a banana. Since I used two in this batch, I only ate half of the end product and put the rest in the freezer for another time.

I can’t wait to make variations of this like adding cocoa powder, not to mention the topping possibilities 😉

Another great day on the books. I’m really pleased with all my meals and choices today. Each day I learn a little bit more about how to listen to my body and obey my hunger cues.

I’m also enjoying this ride into veganism and while I have had challenges, I’ve certainly not been really frustrated or derailed in any way. I appreciate all the tips and support on this journey, it means a lot to me.

Have a good night everybody, thanks for reading! Got a run and some good meals planned for tomorrow, can’t wait 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 18, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I am trying the Banana ice cream mañana! =)

  2. Ooooh the infamous banana “soft-serve.” Can’t wait to try this out myself!
    Doesn’t it feel great to have a spanking clean home?

  3. I need to try that soft serve! I am just so scared that it will mess up my magic bullet, do you think it will? I don’t have a food processor.

  4. Yeeha! Glad you liked.

    And no, it won’t mess up a magic bullet, though it’ll take way longer to get creamy!

  5. Omg I stillllll haven’t tried the banana soft-serve! I really need to get on that!!!

  6. everythingflowsonward

    Oh yum! I have some bananas in the freezer right now… I know what I’m making for dessert tonight! Thanks for the idea!

    Jenny

  7. This “ice cream” is the best isn’t it? I absolutely love it. Sometimes it gets a little too banana-y for me so I add just a dallop of ricotta cheese and it is awesome!!! Love it.

  8. I can’t wait to try the banana “soft serve.” It sounds very yummy!

  9. Hey! Me again =) I just passed an award along to you on my blog =)

  10. the banana soft serve is sooo good!!! I made it once but I only used 1 banana so it wasn’t nearly enough to make a full batch, but it was still delicious! glad you enjoyed it!

    that is so strange that the pumpkin syrup has milk in it?! who knew?!

  11. I need to remember to freeze some bananas so I can make this. I keep forgetting!!

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Day 18.3: At long last « See Sarah Eat [seesaraheat.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Day 19: Finally ate that salad « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

