Day 18: Coffee, oats, exercise?

Good morning friends!

I got lots of rest last night but for some reason I am very unmotivated to exercise. I think it’s a combination of the cold weather and just the need to relax on the weekends. I work out Monday-Friday most weeks so why not?

I think I may just wait until later and use housecleaning as a workout. Maybe work in a set of squats or something here and there? 😉

Breakfast this morning was a simple bowl of oats with banana and peanut butter. Plus coffee with rice milk.

003

I did shake things up a little bit today by cooking the oats on the stove instead of the microwave. It had been a while!

I’m working on cup of coffee number two and dreading taking the dog outside. It is 32 degrees right now, there is frost on the car windows and our apartment is hovering at 62 degrees. But really, even for a cold-natured person it’s not too bad.

It appears that so far you all agree with me that pumpkin is a vegetable, yay!

I have something to admit to you guys…I rarely buy organic food. It’s just more expensive and while I thoroughly wash any produce that I do buy, I know sometimes it is still better to go with the organic selections. So I hope to make that a goal of mine here soon.

Read 10 organic foods that are worth the money from Real Simple magazine (one I need to pick up more often).

Do you buy organic? Why or why not?

Happy Sunday! I better get ready for church now 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 18, 2009, in articles, Breakfast, coffee, exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I only buy organic produce if it’s on Sale…one time I brought organic Strawberries by mistake and omg they were so freaking good.

    I have not worked out since Friday morning! GASP…I hate being sick =(

  2. When I buy bananas they have to be organic… the taste is really worth the extra cost, they are so much better than non organic. With other things it comes down to how much more it costs and if it feels worth it.

  3. I buy only organic fresh produce, and mostly organic everything else. For me it’s worth the money. I spend money buying food that I feel is better for my family, and better for the earth, and we just don’t spend the extra money eating out.

    I have two small children, and the thought of filling their bodies with scary herbicides and pesticides is the only motivation I need to spend the extra money. Plus, conventional farming is just not sustainable, and it is damaging our natural resources beyond repair. I want my children to have a healthy beautiful planet to grow up on.

    As for the pumpkin….botanically speaking it is a fruit. Anything with seeds is a fruit (tomatoes, zuchhini, all squashes, cucumbers, etc.). However, culinarily speaking, pumpkin would be considered a vegetable because a vegetable is any part of a plant eaten by humans including the botanical fruits. So, it’s proper to say that a pumpkin is a fruit AND a vegetable.

  4. You know what? Sometimes we work out more, sometimes we work out less. It’s all good : )

Leave a Reply

