Day 19: Finally ate that salad

This morning I finished off the last of my pumpkin pie pancakes. It was sort of sad to see them go but I know I can always make them again another time 😉

001

On the way to work, my mom suggested we stop at Starbucks since it was cold and we had a few extra minutes. She rules 😉

003

Soy latte! This seriously tastes like toasted marshmallows. Who needs those syrupy drinks? Well, I’m still pretty peeved about their pumpkin spice syrup (it has milk in it).

002

This morning at work, we had a party to celebrate all the October birthdays in our department and I snacked on some fruit (strawberries, pineapple, cantaloupe, grapes) and some peanuts.

For lunch, I had the salad I had been talking about making for a couple of days now. I wasn’t too excited about it this morning, especially considering how cold it was today, but once I ate it, I changed my tune 🙂

004

This salad contained: romaine lettuce, diced tomatoes with chiles, black beans and half a chopped green pepper. I used hummus as a dressing and had a few fire roasted tomato Triscuits leftover from the party that I saw on the approved vegan snack list!

Both the salad and the crackers were flavorful and spicy. What a great lunch 🙂

Unfortunately it was not too much later that I realized I forgot to bring an afternoon snack! I had been trying to get away from “convenience” foods like these but it was pretty much my only choice.

005

Actually it was either this or some cinnamon Teddy Grahams. I almost went for the latter, until I saw partially hydrogenated stuff on the list of ingredients. They may be vegan, but they are still disgusting!

Plus, the bag would’ve cost me almost 400 calories while the bar was a mere 160. I made a good choice 🙂

After work, I hit the gym solo to do a nice walk/run. I decided to up the running amount today and do a little experiment with various speeds. Apparently, I’m most comfortable at 5.5 mph but I can stay at 6.0 for a while. And if I need to jog and recover, 5.0 is perfect.

I stuck with our 0.25 mile intervals but instead of alternating walking a lap with running a lap, I walked one (warm up), ran three, walked one, ran three, walked one, ran two and walked one (cool down).

I did 3.02 miles in 40:00. By running more this time, I shaved 5 minutes off my normal time. I was going to try for 4 miles today but my calves and knees were starting to tire and hurt so I kept it at 3.

For dinner, I made a new to me vegan recipe from Happy Herbivore!

Behold, Vegan Red Beans & Rice 🙂

006

The original recipe called for Adobo seasoned tomatoes but I ended up with diced tomatoes with green chiles instead.

Here is my portion:

008

Verdict: So yummy! And totally easy and inexpensive to make. I have leftovers too so you will be seeing this again over the course of the week 🙂

For dessert, I had the other half of my banana soft serve from last night topped with a little bit of peanut butter.

009

I’m so sleepy and so glad that I did all the housework yesterday so tonight I an just RELAX!

I think I see some tea in my future and an early bed time. I’m thinking 9:00 is looking pretty good right now…I swear I’m only 27! Ha ha.

Good night friends 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 19, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, parties, products, running, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh I had the soft serve today! I mixed it with a splash of ff milk, splenda, and vanilla extreact. I was going to add PB too but I saved it for tomorrow’s oats in the jar =)

    did you see the award I gave you?

    Dude your din din looks what I grew up eating every single day (minus the meat and plantain lol) are you sure you’re not dominican ha

  2. glad you liked that recipe! its a great, easy staple ingredient food!!

  3. Why does pumpkin syrup from Starbucks have milk? I’m not a vegan but that’s totally ridiculous!!!

  4. Your Pumpkin Pancakes look good!

    I think I will use that recipe next time as even though mine (the ones I made on Sunday) were very healthy for your they weren’t that good…..kinda dense, little flavor (need more sweet) and I couldn’t get them all the way cooked without burning. Maybe it is my pancake cooking, which isn’t the best I might add as others seem to like them, who knows!?!

    =) Laura

  5. Well done for improving your time on the running – you knocked a big margin off – a good sign you’re really improving your fitness.

    You’re so right about salad – the thought of a salad doesn’t excite the taste buds, but when you eat one you realise how tastey they are, and I always find a big salad very filling.

    Stay fit.

    Jonny

  1. Pingback: Day 20.2: A potential gig? « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

