Day 20: Breakfast at work again

Good morning!

I woke up an hour late again today, something about being all warm and cozy I guess. The dog isn’t helping either! Usually she is up before me, pacing back and forth by the bed, but even she slept in πŸ˜‰

With about 30 minutes before I had to be out the door, I managed to walk and feed the dog, take a shower, get ready and pack my stuff for the day. One thing that saved me some time was eating breakfast at work.

I know in this situation, with not much time to spare, a lot of people (including my former self) would just choose the McDonald’s drive-thru or hit the cafe or vending machines when they gotΒ to work. Nuh uh, don’t do it!

If you have breakfast planned out the night before, it won’t take any time to put it together, even if it has to travel. It only took me a minute or so to throw together everything I needed for some very delicious and nutritious pumpkin oats πŸ™‚

Picture

In the bowl, I mixed 1/3 cup oats with 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup pumpkin puree and then covered it in foil to make the trip to work. When I got here, I took off the foil and threw it in the microwave for 2.5 minutes, then topped it with some delicious chocolate chips and peanut butter.

Coffee on the side never hurts either. What a great breakfast! I’m glad I took the time to enjoy it.

Did you enjoy your breakfast today?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Mmm – pumpkin oats sound awesome. I am going to have to try it. I usually just stick to a piece of fruit for breakfast- right now I am on a banana kick. If I’m really hungry I will eat it with some peanut butter (I like Earth Balance Natural Peanut Butter, sweetened with agave not sugar).

  2. I hate waking up late! it’s the worst. I always have to talk myself into making healthy choices.

  3. These cold mornings make waking up hard don’t they? Add to that, it’s still dark, and there’s just no winning. Maybe when the time changes it’ll be better, because it will at least be getting light out sooner.

    I did enjoy my breakfast today. Had a nice warming bowl of Miso Soup…my new favorite breakfast. It only takes about 5 minutes to prepare is warm and savory, and a perfect way to break the fast of sleeping. Gentle on your digestive track and really gets things ready for the days digestion.

    Enjoy the rest of your day!!

  4. I enjoyed my breakfast so much today πŸ™‚ I also had pumpkin oats, which were great and exactly what I needed for a good start of the day.

  5. The cold weather always just makes me wantt o curl up in bed and not get up! Oh yea…I remember the days of McDonalds…good for you for being prepared!

  6. peanutbutterfingers

    way to plan ahead! i bring all of my snacks and meals to work. i look like a bag lady, but i’m always prepared!

  7. I love planning ahead. It makes me feel way more in control and less anxious/cranky.

    “Coffee on the side never hurts” Hell yeah, sister.

    PS – love your blog. I just found it! I’m going to add you to my blogroll =D

  8. Thanks for the post- you are right, breakfast is the quickest meal to make and should be healthy! I ate my breakfast in the car as my hubby drove- much better than hitting up some nasty fast food joint!

  9. You are so creative! I would never have guessed to try pumpkin in oats… how dull am I?

Leave a Reply

