Day 23.3: Second chances?

Well, even though at the end of my last post, I was filled with much optimism, I was a bit disappointed in our dinner at Spinelli’s tonight.

We went to the new location in the East End, which is much closer to where we live and perhaps that’s where we went wrong. We have both been to the other location in the Highlands numerous times.

First of all, the place is tiny with literally only four chairs to sit in. Apparently, even though they are open, they aren’t completely done with the building yet and anticipate having more places to sit in the future.

They did have some neat decor in the form of graffiti!

001

002

I got the veggie stromboli with no cheese and the guy wrote “vegan” on the ticket, so that made me a little happy. 😉

This dish itself, was just okay though. Basically, just veggies and bread. Not much flavor other than the pizza sauce I doused it with.

It was also $9.00 which I thought was a little steep until I saw the size of this thing! Apparently though, it’s still $2 more than at the other location!

004

The edges of the crust were nice and chewy so that was enjoyable. The veggies on the inside were rather plain but they tasted pretty fresh.

006

I only ate two of the pieces and I’m saving the third for a meal tomorrow though I’m sure I’ll have to have something else with it!

Josh warmed up his stomach with a huge slice of pepperoni pizza.

003

Then he enjoyed one of his favorite cheese steaks in the city. By the way, I find it hilarious that Josh loves Philly cheese steaks considering he is a big New York fan 😉

005

You can hardly see the cheese on there but it is under the meat. I think Josh really enjoyed his meal, so I feel kind of bad that I was less than impressed.

Did I mention how we had to pay $1.50 to share a bottled water? What restaurant doesn’t have free water? I was kind of disappointed.

However, I’m willing to give a place a second chance (unless they were horrible) and since this location hasn’t fully opened yet perhaps things will improve. But I won’t go back to this one specifically because of their higher prices.

What about you? Do you give places a second chance if the first impression was not that great?

I don’t think I would order the stromboli again but I think my only other options are french fries and house salad. So I may just have to leave Josh and Spinelli’s to a night out with his friends. Sorry babe, I tried!

When I got home, I still felt a little hungry so I had some dessert.

007

At least I knew what I was getting into with that. So Delicious peanut butter zig zag, you never disappoint me 😉

Time to make a grocery list for tomorrow! I’m going out first thing in the morning after a good breakfast. I wonder if I have the ingredients for more pancakes…

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 23, 2009, in Dinner, restaurants, reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ugh I hate when places fall short of expectations. I think I would give it a second chance IF it had more options but this place doesn’t seem to cater to what you like, so I think you should let Josh go with his friends =)

    Yay Josh for being a NY fan…and don’t worry I love Philly cheese steaks too!

Leave a Reply

