Day 25.2: Recipes and Nightmares

I promise this is my last post for the day, it’s crazy trying to catch up two days in one!

For dinner tonight, I made another recipe out of Vegan Planet, this time it was the Hot Tamale Vegetable Pie.

012

I got my ingredients together. I used black olives instead of pimientos because I had them and wanted to use them up instead. I also used a yellow onion instead of red for some variety.

011

Throwing it all together was pretty easy! First veggies…

013

Then adding the tofu-flour-seasonings mixture.

014

Going into the oven, I was impressed at how easy this was to make and hoping it would turn out well.

015

While this was cooking, I started watching “A Nightmare on Elm Street” one of my all-time favorite horror movies. It doesn’t scare me like it used to when I was a kid but I still enjoy watching it.

I’m looking forward to the remake they are doing that comes out next year but I also get nervous when they do this because something always changes. We’ll see!

When it came out 35 minutes later, it looked pretty good! I let it cool for 5 minutes or so.

016

I tried a slice with some salsa on top to test it out.

017

This was pretty tasty! I loved all the veggies and the chiles and salsa made it pretty spicy. It was a bit on the crumbly side so I think I would bake it a few more minutes next time.

Apparently, I was pretty hungry because I went back for seconds and added an Ezekiel muffin on the side 🙂

018

I still have two more servings to have later in the week, I can’t wait!

For dessert, I’m having So Delicious peanut butter zig zag. It’s almost gone and I have a couple other frozen desserts left. I will be taking a break soon in order not to get burned out.

Dessert should be a real treat, which for me means not having it every single night. But tonight is okay 😉

019

Off to finish the movie!

If you are a fan of horror films, what are some of your favorites?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 25, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, movies, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. the exorcist still gives me nightmares even though I have seen it soooo many times!

  2. I really like Rosemary’s Baby and The Shining. I’m a huge Stephen King fan and I’m also a fan of the Halloween movies!

  3. Well you know I love the Elm Street Series =)

    Candyman is def one of my faves too! I love when he is in the parking lot and calls her name “Heeeeeeeellen”…..”who is that who’s there???”

    Exorcist 3 is good too…that one made me jump a few times. I was so happy to know I didn’t have a “K” in my name (killed people with K’s)…

    okay I should stop before I list 100 more movies lol

  4. Wow-that looks really good. I will have to try that sometime!

  5. Oh man, I love horror movies. Have you seen Rob Zombie’s “House of 1,000 Corpses” and sequel “The Devil’s Rejects?” Very graphic and gross, but awesome movies!

    My favorite old-school horror / suspense movie has to be Stephen King’s “The Shining.” It’s so freaking scary, ha.

    The tamale pie looks good – what is the texture like? Is it kind of springy and fluffy like an egg-based casserole would be, or more spongy?

    • It reminded me a lot of an egg-based casserole, which I think comes from the tofu that is in it. It fell apart when I took it out of the pan but other than that, it was great!

      I have seen House of 1,000 Corpses and can only watch it in the day time, ha ha! I wasn’t a big fan of The Devil’s Rejects, perhaps I should give it another viewing.

      I love The Shining too, anything by Stephen King really. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      • LOL – I have to watch some movies during the day time (or with all of the lights on at night), too! We tried watching “Quarrantine” and I had to turn the thing off. Zombie movies are way too realistic and I get so freaked out, haha!

  6. I’ve wondered how Vegan Planet is…looks like some good recipes?! Love your dessert! Haha – I actually eat ice cream every night…I think I should start practicing your habits though – my tummy would appreciate it.

    I love the idea of watching Scary Movies while baking – oh I wish I could NOT go to work and do that !! But…I’m scared to death of all the old ‘classic’ Halloween movies – yes, I’m a wimp – I can deal with suspenseful ones though?! Ummm…I did like ‘Scream’ back in the day haha! Actually, I thought that movie “The Others” with Nicole Kidman was pretty creepy…good, but creepy.

    Has anybody seen “Paranomal” yet?

    Love your blog – add me to your roll if you check mine out – love getting great readers 🙂

  7. Ah ! That tofu veggie pie looks so good. Thanks for posting the recipe – definitely need to try it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

