Day 25: The Final Stretch

So here we are, 25 days into the Vegan MoFo III challenge!

Just a few short weeks ago, I made the decision to adopt a vegan diet and while there have been a few challenges overall it’s been very easy and fun.

Now that I am in the final stretch, I’ve had a lot going through my head about what I want to continue after the end of this month. But we’ve still got 6 more days, so let’s wait on that!

Breakfast this morning was more banana pancakes 🙂 They kept sticking to the pan which is why some of them are a little messy looking but it certainly didn’t impact the taste.

009

Plus I got to try something new I picked up yesterday.

006

I have to say…as excited as I was about this when I bought it yesterday, I didn’t quite enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

I couldn’t really taste the pumpkin spice at all. I think I need to use more next time or save it for an in between meals drink because it was competing with a lot of other flavors in this meal.

008

For lunch, we went with my parents and in-laws to Applebee’s which immediately made me nervous because I could never remember them having anything veggie-friendly.

As I paged through the menu, I couldn’t believe that every single dish contained meat and/or dairy. Literally! The only things without meat were some of the appetizers and soup.

I ended up getting the Crispy Orange Chicken bowl minus the chicken.

lunchSunday

It contained almond rice pilaf and a tasty mix of mushrooms, broccoli, red peppers, sugar snap peas and shredded carrots and topped with toasted almonds and crispy noodles, all in an sweet and spicy orange glaze. I stole the red onion from Josh’s plate 🙂

This dish was really good! I know it couldn’t be vegan or it would’ve been listed on the website but I felt I did pretty well considering the lack of options. My big complaint though is that I had to pick out a couple tiny pieces of chicken that I found in there!

The waiter had brought the chicken out on a separate plate because I “was going to pay for it anyway, so someone might as well eat it.” So what they had done is made the salad as is and then took the chicken off the top before it came out.

I found this a little weird and it’s good ethical animal issues isn’t my primary motivation. I could see where this would rub someone else the wrong way. I remember one time when Court was still a vegetarian, she found a piece of chicken in something and flipped out!

But I didn’t say anything because we were with family and my dad was paying. But I’m thinking about sending an email or a letter just to show my concern.

After lunch, I embarked on some house cleaning and then got hungry for a snack. I had been thinking about the pumpkin butter I bought yesterday all day long so it was time 🙂

010

So good! I can’t wait to throw it in oatmeal. The other slice had a little bit of peanut butter on it 😉

I’m currently working on dinner, so I’d better get back to it. Hope you all are enjoying your weekend!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 25, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. ha my pancakes were falling apart too this am but tasted oh so good =)

    I think it’s a good idea to send them an email.

  2. Oooh, yeah I can see where, for somone who is a vegan or vegetarian for animal ethics reasons, that bringing the chicken anyway (even on the side) would be a big problem. I’m not sure how I would have handled that. I think a note to the company or something would be appropriate. And who knows, maybe it will be part of a larger movement to increase vegetarian or vegan items on more menus! As I am eating less and less animal protein, I am searching for these kinds of restaurant dishes as well, and not having much luck 😦

    Have a great Monday, Sarah!!

    • I sent them an email today! I just keep thinking…man, they are lucky it was me, ha ha. I still can’t believe their lack of options, it was almost laughable. Even if it is just one thing, we need more vegetarian and vegan options on menus 🙂

  3. pumpkin spice silk?!I would love to give that a go! the pancakes look great too

  4. banana pancakes sound like a tasty treat – I can smell them from here!

    BTW, I’ve just posted the first of a series of posts I’ll be doing over the next few weeks on nutrition – check it out if you like:
    http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/

  5. I have found both Applebees O’Charley’s are consistently HORRIBLE in terms of Veg friendly choices. Which is odd since most places now days have become more accomodating. I would have been furious about them bringing out the chicken. But it’s hard when you are not the one picking the restaurant. I think you did the best with a difficult situation.

Leave a Reply

