My throat hurts

For breakfast this morning, I broke out some Great Harvest bread that I bought on Saturday. This one is vegan 🙂

001

I toasted up two slices with pumpkin butter and peanut butter. Plus an apple on the side for some fruitiness.

002

On the way to work, Mom treated me to a soy chai tea latte, which really hit the spot on my still, very sore and achy throat. If it doesn’t clear up by Wednesday, I am going to the doctor!

Mid morning I snacked on some more plantain chips, love these things.

003 

Good thing I only bought one bag 😉

For lunch, I had some leftover spaghetti squash from Saturday. It was really good again today! I’m so glad I finally tried it.

004

Speaking of spaghetti squash check out my latest Examiner article: Swap your spaghetti for squash

I sipped on some hot tea during class today which also seemed to soothe my throat. Class was also interesting today as we learned more about weight training!

I snacked on some mixed nuts later in the afternoon.

005

When I got home, I immediately knew what I was going to make for dinner. EGGPLANT!

007

I sliced up a medium eggplant, then put some hemp milk and corn meal in separate bowls, dipping each piece of eggplant in the milk then meal.

006

Then I cooked them in the oven at 400 degrees for 30 minutes. Voila!

010

On the side I made some couscous, which I have been craving for a while!

008

I’m a simple girl. This plain couscous was AWESOME. All together now…

009

I really enjoyed my dinner 🙂 The eggplant slices came out kind of crunchy like chips!

After I ate, I did a lot of housework that sort of got left by the wayside this weekend while I wasn’t feeling good and out of town yesterday. I decided to use that as my activity! But I do have a work out scheduled for tomorrow, depending on how I feel.

For a snack a little while ago, I had some Honey Sunshine Kashi cereal with hemp milk. I’m getting used to the hemp milk and I was pleased to see it contains Omega 3’s.

011

I may or may not have had some blood orange Dots too 😉 Ahh, my throat is so sore. I’m off to gargle some salt water and go to bed!

Good night 🙂

p.s. Don’t forget to enter my amazing coupon giveaway before this Friday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 2, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, recipes, sick, Starbucks, tea and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sore throats are the worst! I hope you feel better asap!

  2. I like that eggplant recipe – never try to dip it in the couscous before. Guess it’s pretty crunchy after 400 degree baking! I ate eggplant yesterday too – made a hummus out of it 🙂 and I’m too greedy to use all of them. otherwise I’ll definitely try our your version today!

    Hope your throat feel better soon!

  3. I hope you feel better honey…get some rest =)

  4. I bought some of those PURE bars a while ago, and thought they tasted like crap… they smelled weird, too. Bleh. Good to know I wasn’t the only one unimpressed.

  5. Sorry to hear about the sore throat! At least you have a great excuse to drink lots of hot chocolate!

    Also, pumpkin butter (or sweet potato butter, cause they taste the same to me) and peanut butter is the best combo ever!

  6. Take care of yourself!!!
    Make sure you are resting and staying warm : )

  1. Pingback: My beloved tofu « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

