Eating and drinking locally

For dinner tonight, I got to meet an old friend and some of our other friends at Ramsi’s Cafe on the World, one of the BEST places to eat in Louisville.

I almost got the sloppy falafel again but I decided to branch out and try something new since they have so many vegan options there.

This time I got the roasted vegetable panini.

004

This sandwich ROCKED! It contained portobello mushrooms, roasted red peppers, squashes and red onions, topped with vegan basil mayonnaise and vegan cheese served on homemade Cuban bread.

The only thing I think I would change about it is leave off the (vegan) cheese. Even though it was vegan, I just don’t really like eating cheese if I don’t have to. I loved the vegan mayo though!

The avocado spread that came with it was delicious too. Oh yeah and those potatoes. Great meal, I was very pleased 🙂

After dinner, we walked next door to Heine Brothers, one of our local coffee shops. I got their pumpkin pie latte with soymilk, which I was happy to discover is vegan (the syrup at Starbucks contains dairy!) after I inquired about it on their website earlier this week.

005

This was so tasty! I think I liked it better than Starbucks (gasp). Plus I think I just love the fact that both places I went tonight were local.

OH! I almost forgot to mention the totally awesome 4 mile run I had today. Yeah. The weather was perfect and I felt great!

The one thing I noticed I am struggling with though is breathing. If I could keep it steady and regular, I wouldn’t have as hard of a time. It comes and goes but right now I feel like I’m gasping for air a lot.

If you are a runner (or aspiring runner), what is your biggest struggle? Body aches, fatigue, breathing, or something else?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 7, 2009, in coffee, Dinner, restaurants, running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Next time you go to Ramsi’s you’ve gotta try one of their seitan dishes…….out of this world!!!

  2. I have similar issues with breathing, I cannot seem to get it under control. Very frustrating. And now my knee issues….ugh! I just wanna run!

  3. Way to support your local community!
    Ever since I started running I have terrible pains in my shins. They go away after a day of recovery but are easily agitated the moment I began to run again. I think I need to invest in real running shoes, but I’m not sure if that will help.

    • Yes, the right shoes can make all the difference. It’s good to figure out your stride and then choose a shoe from that. I’m still cheap though so I will get last year’s designs from Shoe Carnival, Dick’s or another discount shoe outlet. I think there is also an insert you can put in your shoes to help with your shins. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

