Working out at home

For breakfast this morning, I worked on perfecting my pumpkin oats. Today’s bowl contained oats, pumpkin, light syrup, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and topped with raisins and almond butter.

It was pretty good but still not it. I think maybe I need to switch back to oat bran 🙂

001

For lunch, I found another new use for an avocado (for me). I smashed it up on some whole wheat bread to have with my leftover soup from lunch on Saturday.

002

It was yummy! I’ve got one more left…what should I do with it?

I had this snack after class today.

003

I love this flavor (Ginger Snap) it’s very spicy and goes well with peppermint tea!

I had planned on making spaghetti squash for dinner tonight but I got home late, walked the dog and just felt kind of lazy. So I decided to make cannelini beans instead.

I cooked the beans with onions and sage and threw them on some prepared couscous (which I’ve now had two days in a row) and topped it all off with some Sriracha.

005

I sat on the couch for a while and let my dinner settle and watched a few minutes of “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” which I haven’t seen in a while!

Then I went upstairs to work out! I decided to utilize some of my home equipment since I couldn’t make it to the gym today.

006

Action shot!

007

I got in a lot of upper body moves, squats, lunges and abs. I was sweating when I was done and my muscles were shaky. I think it was a success!

Do you work out at a gym or at home? What is good or bad about it?

I noticed at home, I get more distracted. It’s also hard to do certain moves that I like because I don’t have a bench or a balance ball at home. But it works when you have no other choice!

This workout called for a snack afterward. Cinnamon chip toast with almond butter and chocolate chips. Perfect.

008 

That’s all I’ve got for now. Hope you all had a good Monday!

Just remember, if anything went wrong today, today is almost over. Wake up tomorrow, smile at yourself in the mirror and stop sweating the small stuff. It’s just not worth it!

Good night 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 9, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks, weight training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. You ARE the ‘Avocado Queen’!
    Maybe that’s what your oats are missing : )
    I try to workout at home but I also get easily distracted. If I use a DVD then it holds my focus. But laying on the floor doing crunches elicits ‘play time’ from the dogs, which is usually a welcome distraction but also deters from my fitness goals!

  2. I love the ginger snap larabar- it’s one of my favs 🙂

    I also worked out at home tonight- I did a BUNCH of upper body work- determined to get rockin’ arms by short sleeved season 2010 (never too early to start, right??)

  3. Avocado looks like a perfect spread for bread ! I love its greenish color ! is it in season now???

  4. The only workouts I do at my apartment is my core work and PT exercises. My apartment complex has a gym so I just go there to workout.

    Oatmeal > Oatbran…

  5. I renewed my gym membership recently due to the non-stop rain that we received this year. I like going to the gym, because it has everything from different classes to take or varied weight machines. I like changing it up with outside exercise, home DVDs, or using the Wii. The one negative factor is that my gym happens to be the only one like it, so it tends to get crowded at certain times of the day.
    I love oat bran with pumpkin. I prefer that combo better than oats.

  6. The last part of your post really hit home for me. I had a terrible day but at least it’s almost over! 🙂

    I work out at our apartment gym or to a Jillian Michaels dvd at home.

  7. Thanks for the positive message! I needed that 🙂
    I love working out at home, it’s so relaxing to pop in a yoga DVD when I’ve got some time to spare. I have some light weights and my boyfriend has a bench setup, so it can be fun to do presses, flys etc.

  8. I love to workout at home. I don’t have to worry about getting in my car and driving somewhere which wastes time. I keep it interesting but using a variety of different dvd’s, magazines, exercise tv, and my Wii =).

  9. OK, so the green toast really threw me for a sec when I first saw it! I totally should have known it was avocado 😉 Good idea, BTW.

    Since the nearest (decent) gym is 45 mins away, I workout at home. Well, and run in the park. I have a pretty good collection of weights and probably have the makings of a really good gym if all my stuff was out. I do LOVE to go to the gym, though, because for me it’s something different. A change of scenery, people watching and whatnot.

    That chocolate chip toast looks delish!

  10. Those pumpkin oats looks AMAZING! Love the addition of almond butter. And I also love to eat avocado smashed up on toast!

Leave a Reply

