Spaghetti squash, round 2

I’m still not back to taking photos of all my eats, but I thought there were a few things worth remarking about today.

Like this giant carrot!

001

Yeah, ignore the Diet Pepsi, it was a moment of weakness and I found it to be rather nasty, so I won’t be doing that again for a while. I wish it had at least been a Coke Zero.

I also had an AWESOME run today. We did 4.32 miles in about 45 minutes, including stopping for a red light.

It is amazing how good I feel after a run these days. I’m seriously considering keeping it up, perhaps running in some races next year. Like the Kentucky Derby Festival Mini-marathon?

n38313368_33308328_3616

I ran it in 2008 and then walked in it this year, so I think perhaps it’s time to run it again. I had decided earlier this year to stick to running shorter distances and that has worked for a while, but I think I’m up for the challenge again.

n38313368_34906357_929641

Check out my running page for more. I’m sure it’ll be updated soon 😉

My biggest concern with running this much is that it makes me insanely HUNGRY. I didn’t gain any weight while training for the mini-marathon in 2008, but what was hard for me was transitioning between eating that way and eating like a person who doesn’t run 20+ miles a week.

But I think if I do this again, it will be different this time. I’ve learned so much more about food in a year and a half than I ever thought I could. And I knew a lot then!

I know more about what foods my body reacts to (good and bad) and what foods are best for recovery. Plus it will be fun to see how sticking to a vegan diet works into training.

What do you guys think? Should I do it?

For dinner, I decided to try spaghetti squash again.

006

I made it the exact same way as last time. Oh, and I started off with some lovely wine.

002

By the time it was done cooking, I was so hungry that I just threw a little bit of spaghetti sauce and garlic on top of the “spaghetti” and stirred. Sorry, I got lazy!

007

Simple, yet delicious.

I also had some leftovers. Not bad, 3 meals for $2.25!

008

I need to experiment with more toppings and see if I can’t come up with a great recipe 🙂 I seriously doubt I’ll eat spaghetti again, this is so much better!

I’ve already had some cinnamon toast for dessert, so I think some peppermint tea is next. Then to bed early!

I took the day off tomorrow but I still have quite a bit going on so a good night’s sleep is definitely necessary.

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 10, 2009, in Dinner, running, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. The squash looks great! I still have never tried it, gotta get on that soon.

  2. My Mom always made spaghetti squash w/ zucchini, tomatoes and sausage (not very vegan friendly, I know)…anyways I grew up with it and love its versatility!
    For the leftovers you should try and make something with avocado since you are the Queen 🙂

  3. I absolutely LOVE spaghetti squash!!! There are so many great things you can do with it. And I agree-I feel so great after a run! Lovin the wine!

  4. You have inspired me to try spaghetti squash. That’s such a good price!

  5. Aw, I wish I could run! I work out all the time at the gym, but running still makes me wheezy…not sure why. I do have some minor lung issues (and I smoked cigs for almost 10 years! Bad, I know). Anyway, the spaghetti squash looks fantastic. I need to buy some more soon!

  6. I think you should go for it! I remember how happy you were when you were training for your last marathon =)

    That squash looks great

  7. You should do it for sure!! Especially since now your diet has completely changed…at least see how it compares to your training last time. My hubby and I are going to run it this year, too 🙂 I haven’t run it since 2004, and I remember it being so FUN!

  8. I LOVE spaghetti squash! I made a quinoa,zucchini, spaghetti squash lasagna – great way to use up the veggies in your fridge!

    http://biz319.wordpress.com/2009/05/27/quinoa-lasagna-2/

  9. Love Squash…and wine!! How much of a squash do you typically eat? What is considered a ‘serving’ – I never know and could eat a full small/medium size myself probably…

  1. Pingback: New running plan « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

