New running plan

Thank you all so much for your support on my last post 🙂

I think I am up for the challenge of running another half marathon. I quit doing the longer distances earlier this year, after a brutal 10-miler, but with all that I have learned since then, I want to see if things can be different. Plus, I have done it before and I think that actually makes the task seem a bit less daunting now.

mile9

I already printed out the training program from last year to give me an idea of what I’m in for (I chose the “intermediate” program instead of beginner this time).

Picture 091

If everything goes well and I’m still healthy, training will officially begin on January 3, 2010. What a way to start off the new year!

Before then, I have quite a few races coming up that I am really looking forward to. Two weeks from today, I will be participating in my first ever Turkey Trot, which is a 5 mile run through a hilly park in south Louisville on Thanksgiving Day. Then I have one race per month in December, January and February to help keep me motivated. March brings the Louisville Triple Crown of Running, including that same 10-miler.

Bottom line: I did not train well at all last year. I tried to just wing it. That worked for my college term papers (sometimes) but not for running. If I do things the way I did in 2008, success is all but guaranteed.

message

I am not going to neglect my strength training either! I’m still going to do at least 2 days per week. I will be posting more on that later!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 12, 2009, in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Good for you honey! I seriously want to train for a marathon but I don’t know how my foot would hold up….

    wow you have a lot of marathons coming up! I am so proud =)

  2. Way to go, honey! If anyone can do it, you can! Rock out those races!!

  3. so many things to look forward too!!! and still sticking with that strength training is so key!! 🙂

  4. You go girl! You’ve inspired me to take a look at upcoming races in my area… there are plenty of “fun runs” that I’ve always wanted to try but never have. There’s a Turkey Trot, a New Year’s Eve run… lots of fun stuff.
    I just moved next to a gigantic, awesome park with about 1.5 miles of trails in a loop. Can’t wait to try it out soon! I live next door, so no excuses anymore 😀

  5. girl work those races! you can TOTALLY do a halfsies! And I say do it up 🙂 It will make you feel amazing when you finish it all great and dandy!

  6. Woohoo!!! I can’t wait to read more of your training plan!

  7. You are planning for success, you got it girl!
    Way to move up to ‘Intermediate’, so cool 🙂

  8. Let’s definitely try to run some. I am doing one in FL next Saturday. Then I want to do the Reindeer Run in Cherokee in Feb, the anthem in March, and the Rodes in March. That’ll be all I have time for in Louisville!

  1. Pingback: Reigning it in « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: The “welcome back” run « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

