I saw John McCain

Wednesday was a whirlwind!

I started off with some tasty banana oats…my favorite, it’s been too long.

001

Then I headed to work, even on my day off, because John McCain was making an appearance. I try to avoid political stuff on my blog, but let me just say this…I didn’t vote for him but I always try to see political or historical figures when they come to town. Something to tell the grandkids.

002

He gave a really nice speech about Veterans Day and then answered some questions from the crowd.

027

I ate a Larabar during the speech. They saw me post on Twitter and offered to send me a shirt, which I gladly acccepted!

054

I also got this snack in the mail which I had forgotten all about, since most of these things take weeks to get to you.

033

They do contain honey for my vegan friends, but they were crunchy and salty too. I enjoyed them as part of my lunch that day.

After the McCain thing, I went to the gym and did an awesome workout of 2 miles on the treadmill and some weights. I really pushed myself to find some appropriate training weights and not just using the same ones each time. I’m ready to get stronger!

Let’s just say, my triceps are still sore today, ha ha 😉

We had a spectacular Girls Night Potluck that evening. For my side item, I brought spicy potatoes! What do you call potatoes that aren’t really fries or wedges either?

Start with some potatoes (I used all but 2 of these):

034

Slice them and place the pieces on a baking sheet. Brush lightly with oil and sprinkle on hot seasoning (ours is called Slap Ya Mama).

035

Bake at 450 for 30 minutes or so. Flip them halfway through.

Voila!

036

The rest of dinner was vegan chili, made deliciously by Beth, who also modeled her Halloween costume for us.

037

She was a package! Her boyfriend is a FedEx delivery dude, in real life and on Halloween, ha ha.

039

We also had some veggies, bread and my fries/chips/whatever on the side. They were SPICY!

040

All together, a great meal 🙂

038

Instead of dessert, we had wine!

041

This was Yellowtail Pinot Grigio and it was delicious. I’ve been sticking to mostly reds lately so this was a welcome change.

042

I swear I only had one glass (all of us split a bottle). I just liked taking pictures of it apparently.

043

Just another Wednesday. Love my girls!

Hope your Friday the 13th was lucky 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 14, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, potluck, running, Snacks, weight training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The baked potato looks sooooo YUMMMY! I haven’t buy potatoes for ages! now I really gonna give it a try!

  2. How cool is that Larabar shirt? I have been meaning to try some of their new bars out.

    Spicy potatoes! YUM

  3. I love eating potatoes like that. They look delicious!

  4. Is that me hiding behind the ginormous glass of wine? Ha ha! I love our girls nights too. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

