Stovetop pumpkin oats are the best

Now I know what has been missing from my beloved pumpkin oats. Even though I enjoy a variety of add-ins and toppings, the best way to eat pumpkin oats is after cooking them on the stove top!

I had neglected this for some time but since today was Sunday and I had a few extra minutes, I treated myself to not using the microwave for once.

004

I combined 1/3 cup of light vanilla soy milk with 2/3 cup water and placed it on the stove until boiling. Then I added 1/3 cup oats, reduced the heat and let it cook for 5-6 minutes while stirring occasionally.

Then, I stirred in 1/4 cup Meijer brand pumpkin and let it cook for another minute or so before removing it from the heat.

After stirring in some wheat germ (1 tbsp), pancake syrup (1 tsp), and pumpkin pie spice (few sprinkles), I topped the oats with pumpkin butter, peanut butter and some raisins.

005

It was almost heaven in a bowl. Look how much neater it looks being poured from the pot instead of cooked in the bowl. It’s beautiful 🙂

I will have to do this again and perhaps switch out the raisins for some chocolate chips. Yum. Here…have another look, you know you want some…

006

Happy Sunday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 15, 2009, in Breakfast, oatmeal, recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. omg! I totally want that right now. I need to try pumpkin oats so I can see what I’ve been missing!

  2. These looks so amazinginly delish. I need to try these oats!!

Leave a Reply

