Not my favorite split pea soup

Last week, I tried another selection from the samples Dr. McDougall’s sent me.

Split Pea soup is something I never would’ve tried in my previous life but once I finally did, it quickly became one of my favorites!

046

I heated this up alongside a slice of whole wheat toast, which I dipped in the soup.

047

The taste was okay, but I prefer a thicker split pea soup. This was very brothy. I think I prefer ones like Health Valley and Amy’s brand which are “creamier” in texture.

048

I can’t wait to try the rest of the soups. Thanks again, Dr. McDougall’s 🙂

What is your favorite soup?

It’s hard for me to narrow down but I’d say split pea, vegetarian chili and minestrone are all on my list!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 16, 2009, in Lunch, products, soup and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. cookingforaveganlover

    i haven’t tired this one yet but i really liked the lentil and my hubz really enjoyed the vegetable

  2. I’ve never seen that kind. I actually haven’t had pea soup since living at home with my parents…I miss it with home-made dumplings and chunks of veggies in a really thick …pea-soupy thing haha…oh memories :(. I did pick up AMY’s Split Pea soup the other day…hopefully it’s good – ever tried?

  3. I love Split Pea soup but I’m with you. I like a thicker-creamier version.

    My favorite soup is potato. I LOVE potato soups!

  4. Haven’t tried these soups yet, but I have a really yummy recipe for a thick, creamy split pea soup on my blog.

  5. the soup coming from the box looks pretty good!! very surprised they are so many visible peas ! 😀

  6. I agree, split pea should be thicccccccck!

  7. My all-time favorite soup has to be italian wedding. I haven’t had it in awhile, but I have fond memories!

  8. cookingforaveganlover

    so i tried this- definitely not the kind of split pea I like but i found the flavor to be okay. it was a little lumpy though

Leave a Reply

