The Green Monster Challenge

Last week, our weather warmed up into the 60’s and 70’s for a few days and it made me realize that I had sworn off green monsters for the season way too early!

You see, I am one of those people that can’t drink really cold stuff when it’s cold because then it is nearly impossible for me to warm back up.

0035

But I decided that the benefits of drinking such an amazing and healthful smoothie far outweighed any discomfort the cold may cause me. Plus, it is still warmer than average here right now (it’s going to be 68 today)!

I was chatting on Twitter with Lauren from Lauren’s Gourmet about how I missed green monsters and she said “We should do a green monster challenge and try to have one everyday next week.”

So, here I am!

The Green Monster Challenge

It’s simple: Have one green monster a day, every day this week.

It can be breakfast, lunch, dinner, or a snack. I started my Monday off with a breakfast-sized GM. I love to start the day off with some veggies 🙂

0032

  • 1 cup light vanilla soy milk
  • 1 sliced, frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3 or 4 cups of fresh spinach

I would be remiss if I did not give a big shout out to Angela from Oh She Glows, who introduced the “green monster” to me to begin with. It has changed my life 🙂

Happy Monday friends!

p.s. Check out Eater Not a Runner’s first giveaway! Vegan goodies!!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 16, 2009, in Breakfast, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh I should join in but that means my Din Din will have to be a GM but I was already planning to have pasta yuuuums ha

  2. Yum! I love Green Monster smoothies…I’m bad about only drinking them on my raw days, but I should totally have them more often.

  3. YAY for green Monster Challenges and YAY for Angela who inspired us all!

  4. Ok seriously I need a blender!!

  5. Oh, how I love thee Green Monsters. Haha.

    I feel like they have changed my perspective, too! So fresh and delicious.

  1. Pingback: My “get buff” workout « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Green Monster « Cooking For a Vegan Lover's Blog

Leave a Reply

