My “get buff” workout

I started off with another green monster this morning. These can just do no wrong by me, now that I have found the perfect combination of ingredients!

011

For lunch today, I had leftover tofu that I made Sunday night. I used a brand I’m familiar with but this time I used “firm” instead of “extra firm.”

001

I couldn’t tell a really big difference between firm and extra firm, both are good. Talk about a dish that can do no wrong now that I have found the right combination of ingredients!

It took me forever to perfect baked tofu. Totally worth the wait though.

003

Before I left work, I fueled up on a Clif bar that I hadn’t had in a while.

003

I read through the ingredients, didn’t see anything iffy, only a statement saying it might contain “trace elements” of dairy. Today, it was worth it. I love this bar!

004

After work, I hit the gym for a KILLER WORKOUT!

I started off doing 10 minutes on the stepmill/stairmaster using an “endurance” program. I had it set for 15 minutes but didn’t make it all the way.

How does Kath do it? That machine kicked my butt!

Then I embarked on my weight lifting routine. These days, I am focusing on heavier weights and lower reps to build strength. I’m hoping to alternate it with the opposite to keep up muscle endurance as well.

  • Chest presses – 22.5 lb dumbbells; 1×10, 1×8, 1×6
  • Shoulder presses – 17.5 lbs; 1×8, 1×6, 1×5
  • Bicep curls – 17.5 lbs; 1×10, 1×7, 1×5
  • Tricep extensions – 20 lbs (1 dumbbell); 1×12, 1×10, 1×10
  • Squats – 15 lb bar; 3×30
  • Lunges – 15 lb bar; 3×30 (15 each leg)
  • Plie squats -  8 lb medicine ball; 3×20
  • Calf raises – 15 lb bar; 1×25, 1×30, 1×25
  • Abs – 6 exercises, 25 reps each

I kind of cut it short on abs because I ran out of time, so I think I will try for those tomorrow!

I took a one minute (timed) break between each set. By the time I was done, I was a sweaty, shaky mess, but in a good way. I’m running tomorrow so hopefully my legs won’t be too sore 😉

For dinner tonight, I made some lentils that had been in my cabinet for a while. I cooked them per the instructions on the bag and added some green pepper and onion that I sautéed.

009

They were decent but could’ve used an extra “kick” ya know?

I steamed some green beans on the side (yum) and had a piece of toast with SB (Smart Balance Light).

007

I also enjoyed a glass of Funky Llama 🙂

010

Ew, ignore my dirty stove top! Well, I just told you about it so how did that help? Ha ha.

I just snacked on some cinnamon bread with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

011

I “splurged” this week and got the Nestle brand semi-sweet morsels and OH MY GOSH, they are so much better than the generic ones I had been getting!

Sometimes when you buy an off brand there is no difference and it is good to save money but then there are times like this, when the extra $$ (less than a dollar) is totally worth it!

What about you? Do you buy the “name” brands or do you get the cheaper stuff? Do you notice a difference?

I’m off to enjoy some tea and rest these muscles of mine. Good night 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 17, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, products, recipes, Snacks, weight training, workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Some things, like chocolate, are always worth the splurge!

  2. I agree with you. Sometimes I get things just because they are a tiny bit cheaper. It’s not always worth it!

  3. I usually give the no name brand a try, to see if I can tell a difference. Sometimes, there is no difference. And other times, it is totally worth the extra $. I bought icing to make my daughter’s birthday cake. The no name brand tasted horrible! Won’t buy that again! Yuck!

  4. what is your perfected recipe for baked tofu? mine never comes out like i like it.

    • Hey Christina – first, the pressing out of the water is crucial. I pat mine with 2 paper towels first and then wrap several more around the block of tofu and sit another plate on top of it for at least 15 minutes. Then I remove the paper towels, slice it into cubes and then sprinkle it with olive oil, this hot seasoning we have called Slap Yo Mama, and some sesame seeds (got that idea from Caitlin @ Healthy Tipping Point). Bake at 425 for 20 minutes. Hope that helps!

      p.s. I also use Extra Firm tofu, make sure it is not silken!

Leave a Reply

