It’s the little things

This time of year, with the colder weather creeping in and all the stress the holidays can bring, I have found myself already taking time to appreciate the little things that make me happy.

Like the Starbucks red cup 🙂

014

And the soy latte that comes inside isn’t too shabby either.

013

I’m also very thankful for leftovers, a benefit (if the only one), to being the only vegan member of your household!

015

It is also an important time of year to not sweat the small stuff…like burning brown rice!

002

Studying for exams…

006

Or having to make a decision between wine and a snack.

Answer: just have both!

007

As you can see, I have let the infamous oatmeal crack squares back into my house. They were on sale!

So far, I have been able to control myself but they still call my name constantly. Oh well, there are worse things 😉

008

What are you going to enjoy about this holiday season? What are you going to NOT stress about?

I can’t believe Thanksgiving is next week. I don’t know what we’re having yet and I haven’t figured out what I’m going to make either, ahhh!

I need to take my own advice…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 18, 2009, in holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hi!

    I love your attitude “just have both!” , “there are worse things” and “dont sweat the small stuff”… it is very refreshing to hear such a great perspective!

    🙂

    -Jamie

  2. I want to try those oatmeal squares. I’m actually really curious about them!

    And I’m with you, the Starbucks Red cup really makes me happy.

  3. i have 4 boxes in my pantry. can anyone say BINGE IS A COMING?! yes. yes.

  4. Ahhh Quaker Oatmeal Squares…yes, in my house too. I have to ration out some for myself every day or it could get ugly 😉

    This holiday season I am going to enjoy my family. I am going to enjoy being healthy and soak in every single moment with everybody. I am NOT going to stress about family dynamics and high expectations. I am going to relax and be open and ENJOY EVERY SECOND!

  5. Yeah if I tried to have those quares in my house..the box would be gone in a day! I like your attitude about having both wine and the cereal t hough! Sounds good to me!

  6. I had my first red cup the day of my half-marathon. I love that my half kicked off the holiday season!

    This season I’m going to try to enjoy my hubs and try not to stress out over family drama. I just want to have a good time and not be involved in the stress of family issues! I’m also going to enjoy (in moderation) good food and drink!

  7. I love the red cups! They are so cheerful 🙂

  8. everythingflowsonward

    i feel like i’m about to rain on your parade… 😦 i work at sbux and i have to tell you, from one vegan to another… our soy milk is NOT vegan. it’s made special for our stores so that it steams better… it’s kosher, parve, halal and all that but it’s not vegan. 😦

Leave a Reply

